We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ASK - Scarborough

ASK - Scarborough
North Wharf | South Bay Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PP, England
01723 507 575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: You couldn't ask for a better location for dining in Scarborough than that of the superb ASK Italian restaurant. Based in the North Wharf, ASK Italian sits directly opposite the sea and is perched on the harbour side. If you dine upstairs you'll catch the most magnificent views over the sea and Scarborough Castle and the large outdoor seating area is idyllic in the summer months. As for the food, ASK Italian Scarborough serves up classic Italian food with style and flair. The menu is full of tasty Italian dishes such as the Pollo Marsala (chicken supreme cooked in mushroom and Marsala wine sauce served with green beans and a bowl of seasoned chips or roasted new Charlotte potatoes or the delicious salad with marinated king prawns and a spicy chilli and lemon dip. Enjoy a chilled Peroni beer or glass of wine and indulge in the beautiful views and first class food at ASK Italian.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had lunch their and it was not bad but is a little overpriced.The waiter was very good but had to wait a long time for our main course.It was not busy so hate to think how long we would have waited if it was packed.The drinks are expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    168
    109
    50
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Too small and claustrophobic, but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

as I said in the title, the restaurant is too small and claustrophobic but the food was wonderful as always from an ASK. The service was kind and friendly and we enjoyed it apart from the space issue.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family recently visited this restaurant on a Saturday night, luckily we had already booked as it was quite busy, I would recommend this if you're thinking of going. The restaurant itself is very clean and modern as you would expect of an ASK, but also featured an outdoor seating area on the seafront and second floor with excellent views over Scarborough bay.

The staff were welcoming and very friendly, we were served promptly and our food arrived in a good amount of time. All our meals were excellent and I can definitely recommend their cheapest bottle of red for £15 which was very tasty indeed.

All in all we were very happy with the experience at ASK Scarborough and I'm hoping to return in the not so distant future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have been waiting for a chance to eat here and I have to say it was worth the wait. Service was very welcoming and helpful. The Linguine was delish and I recommend the Sicilian lemonade is Devine! Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant overlooking scarborough harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visited the restaurant with my family last week, on a glorious sunny day, albeit in the early evening. The site of Ask, is overlooking the harbour area, and offers a fair selection of Italian food, at a reasonable price. Even better as my daughter had obtained a 25% off food discount code from one of the companies [including Ask] which sometimes offers this for potential customers.

The restaurant was clean, well staffed [ with polite and helpful staff !], and the meal was enjoyable.

If you want something different to the culture of "Fish & Chips", then this facility offers this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK - Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to ASK - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK - Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.