We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASK - Scarborough

ASK - Scarborough
North Wharf | South Bay Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PP, England
01723 507 575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: You couldn't ask for a better location for dining in Scarborough than that of the superb ASK Italian restaurant. Based in the North Wharf, ASK Italian sits directly opposite the sea and is perched on the harbour side. If you dine upstairs you'll catch the most magnificent views over the sea and Scarborough Castle and the large outdoor seating area is idyllic in the summer months. As for the food, ASK Italian Scarborough serves up classic Italian food with style and flair. The menu is full of tasty Italian dishes such as the Pollo Marsala (chicken supreme cooked in mushroom and Marsala wine sauce served with green beans and a bowl of seasoned chips or roasted new Charlotte potatoes or the delicious salad with marinated king prawns and a spicy chilli and lemon dip. Enjoy a chilled Peroni beer or glass of wine and indulge in the beautiful views and first class food at ASK Italian.
robin hoods bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and a friend went along with our two 4 year olds and were very impressed especially with the kids menu. All the food we ordered came quickly and was delicious. The waitress was so helpful, friendly and very patient with our children. Will definitely come back and would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    168
    109
    50
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ask; Great food, lovely venue, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A trip to the seaside for my birthday saw us wandering the streets of Scarborough on a grey March evening with all of the standard fish and chip places that line the seafront closed for the day - so with little other choice we popped into Ask. And what a great decision that was. Excellent food in a lovely harbour venue with friendly attentive service.

The place was busy but not overly so, and all three courses were delicious. I wouldn't hesitate going here again on one of our regular trips to this coast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is why I hate branded restaurants.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Overpriced boring food , how do these restaurants keep getting away with it.
Maybe 1 tablespoon of minced beef in my fettucini Bolognese that would have been better off in a cottage pie anyway than an Italian dish, as the Bolognese was about as far away from being Italian as fish and chips. They have got this so so badly wrong and for the prices they charge ,on the plus side the saving grace was our waiting servers.my thanks must go out to you as you have finally put the last nail in the coffin as i will never dine in a BRANDED ever again .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ask Italian, Scarborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Tonight my family and 2 year old Grandson ate at ASK in Scarborough. It was an experience not to be forgotten. We all had different dishes ( 4 adults and 1 grandson) and the food was amazing. A 3 course meal was had by all which was a good representation of the wide and varied menu on display. However, what made it such a brilliant evening was the staff and service that was provided. My grandson was treated as a VERY IMPORTANT PERSON and it was easy for us because he was treated so special by the staff as were all the other children in the restaurant at the time we were there. I would have happily paid twice as much just for the service on its own. Sylvia one of the table staff went well above what one would normally expect of a good waitress in the attention to our table needs, ie crayons paper etc. This was also shown by the rest of the restaurant team from the chefs to table staff. This same courtesy was not just extended to my family but also to all the other customers there as well. I for one shall be coming back here gain with my family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great grub in a boathouse on the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

ASK food is good and the wine too. We really liked the location of this branch - on the front, with a view of boats and the working harbour. The staff were efficient and we really enjoyed our lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK - Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to ASK - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK - Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.