We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hillcrest to your Saves list
The Hillcrest
2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely b & b. Booked at the last minute when it looked like the weather was going to be decent. Very friendly and helpful. 2 minutes from peasholme. We were on the top floor and booked a twin room but were pleasantly surprised that there was a double and single bed. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. We did find the shower room a bit small though. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
15
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

this is a little haven of tranquility i was greeted by owners tony and lynne who were in the garden when i arrived i had booked room 3 however was given the choice of 3 or 5 room 5 had a view so i took that also my luggage was whisked off me to my room
the room was light airy and spotleesly clean all the usual amenities tea coffee tv dvd and en suite plenty of space for clothes etc
breakfast was one of the best ive ever had the egggyolks were so bright orange you needed sunglasses definitly free range
as i was leaving i mentioned to tony that i had to go to the castle to collect some things i had purchased he promptly handed me a parking disc thats service for you and as for location well its a 10 minute walk into town centre or 20 if you go via north bay right by peasholm park for the naval battles etc
a definite return for me when im next in North Yorkshire Tony and Lynne were exceptional hosts

Room Tip: dont think theres anything you can say just excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Welcome was warm, friendly and helpful, nice size room with a double and a single bed in. It was clean and airy overlooking the top of the park. Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, which is always good. Excellent breakfast - cooked to perfection one of the best.

Location meant you were a walk away from everything - lovely and quiet at night which meant a good nights sleep.

It's a long time since we stayed in Scarborough - so glad we happen to choose this hotel, it meant we had a perfect weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent accomodation, very clean & freindly staff. Would reccomend to family & freinds, and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hillcrest for just 2 nights but wish that it had been more. From the moment I arrived the hosts Lynn and Tony were cheery and welcoming. My room with en-suite facilities, was large, bright, airy and newly decorated having the benefit of a double and single bed each being adorned with sumptuous bedding. The room and en-suite facilities were immaculately clean and with the added advantage of fluffy towels and a variety of complimentary soaps, shampoo and body wash liquids. A hairdryer is provided so no need to bring your own! TV/DVD and drinks tray made the stay extra homely.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order so fresh and tasty.
Don't waste your time looking for a better place to stay because you won't find one! A home from home family run guest house, in close proximity to parks, activity centres and main tourist attractions. I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Im a regular traveller to Scarborough and after staying in a few horrible hotels i stumbled across Hillcrest Hotel and now will not stay anywhere else! The owners, Lynn and Tony, are fabulous hosts always friendly and accommodating.

The room i stayed in had a lovely en-suite and was very spacious, everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. Never had any issue with noise. Breakfast and dinner are always freshly prepared and delicious.

Genuinely cannot find fault with this place. 5minutes walk from the beach, 2minutes to peasholm park. I really do recommend staying here its lovely!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and homely and have lovely newly refurbished en-suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife & I spent two nights at Hillcrest Hotel. It was a last minute booking,Tony & Lynn could not have been more accommodating. From the first greeting on our arrival we were made to feel welcome & nothing was a problem.

Our double room with on-suite was spotless & tastefully decorated, complementary tea & coffee facilities were provided.


The hearty breakfast was made to order & good choice was available. I would definitely recommend the full English; my wife took the lighter option & was very happy with the selection available.

Out time in the Hillcrest was a breath of fresh air after our previous experiences in sole less large chain Inns. The personal touch for us from now on good luck for the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hillcrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.