We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hillcrest to your Saves list
The Hillcrest
2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in hotels to numerous to mention over the years I can say without a doubt that The Hillcrest is second to none! I was made to feel like one of the family with it's warmth and friendly atmosphere. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast was the best I've had the pleasure of eating. I am counting the weeks until my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
15
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed in the Hillcrest Hotel for 2 nights B&B Frid and Sat 7th + 8th October, for our Annual Reunion. Arrived 1 hour early and was greeted by Lyn, no problem for been early, I was shown to my Room, to my surprise a Double Room instead of a Single one. The Room was very clean and a good size to say it was a Attic Room, The Breakfast ,you must have a Full English First Class.
There is only 2 of road Car Parking spaces, but Lyn or Tony will give you a Parking Disc to cover you for your stay, so you can Park on the streets outside of the Hotel.
This a very friendly Hotel I can Recommend a Stay any tine Pete

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at Hillcrest for 2 nights due to abandoned camping trip. Very warm welcome and happy to accommodate us at extremely short notice.

Recently renovated room was clean, tidy and well appointed. Hotel us in quiet residential road close to Peasholm Park and about 10 minutes walking into Scarborough centre.

Breakfast was very tasty. Choice of cereal, juice and a full cooked breakfast. Perfect fried eggs and plenty of toast.

Hosts are friendly and very helpful with directions etc. Parking is by disc which hosts include in room rate.

Better than many other Scarborough b&b. We'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The only downside was there really wasn't anywhere for my husband to read his newspaper !
Our bedroom was smallish but extremely clean with a large bathroom. There were lots of nice touches everywhere and I wouldn't hesitate to book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I came to the Hilcrest Hotel for a night with my partner, it was really nice, homely and cosy.
When we arrived we got our keys straight away to settle into the room, the room wasn't very big but perfect for a nights stay, it was clean and cosy. The TV was great and it had a lovely bathroom.

The location was great! Quick and Easy. 10 minute walk to the town center and a 2 min taxi ride (very cheap)

The evenings we spoke to the owners to ask about the nightlife and how to get to areas because we didn't know the area. They were a great help.

The only downside to our stay was sometimes we felt like we were intruding for example in the evening we wanted to go get drinks at the bar but they shut the door and turned the lights out. It wasn't a problem to ask them to but it felt wrong to.

Great Food!
Polite owners
Lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

7 of us descended on tony and lynne's hotel as we were attending a show at the futurist theatre in scarborough and were over the moon with our choice.
very friendly welcome, rooms nicely decorated and furnished and en-suite,
lcd tv with freeview in room as well as tea/coffee making facilities.
5 minute from futurist by taxi
the breakfast the next morning was worth the trip alone.
forget the rubbish you get in 4* hotels abroad this a FULL english breakfast
juice, cereal, as much toast as you could eat then a freshly cooked breakfast of egg,bacon,sausage,tomato,beans and hash brown.
this is a hotel i will be returning to nothing too much trouble and very reasonable drinks prices from their bar.

  • Liked — tony and lynne
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janrw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

I've stayed at the Hillcrest last weekend and I recommend it.

The hotel is on the small side, located in a quiet residential area and inside it's clean and unpretentious. My bedroom wasn't big but perfect for two nights. The small ensuite had an electric shower which was fine. The TV set didn't have very good reception but as I forgot to mention it to the owners...can only blame myself.

At breakfast, you can chose cereals, continental or English breakfast. Everything was fresh and the toasts were perfect, something that sometimes you don't find in big hotels.

It's in a good location but no sea views. I's less than a two minute walk to the park which deserves a visit. To the seafront, probably more like a fifteen minutes walk.

Friendly owners who even will pay for your street car parking.

Thanks very much Lynn and Tony for a nice weekend.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hillcrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.