We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British holiday at the very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Almar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Almar to your Saves list
The Almar
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“British holiday at the very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Three star on the door but a very defiinate five star B and B. everything from start to finish was above our expectations food, hospitality,comfort of the rooms etc was amazing. Great value for money and will definitely return. Jamie the owner had great local knowledge and gave us lots of useful advice. Would not hesitate to recommend the almar or return again (hopefully very soon). Julie and Steve.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
209
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I know we chose the best b&b in Scarborough because the hospitality and service were amazing. From entering the hotel to leaving we felt very welcome and at home. Jamie couldn`t do enough for us. Breakfast was amazing you could have as much or as little as you wanted and everything was cooked fresh and to order. Our room was spacious and comfortable, fresh towels every day, even though we didn`t need them as we were only there for three days. PS Hope Michelle gets better soon, it would be nice to meet her on our next visit.
Dave & Dawn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having just spent the night in The Almar we were pleasantly surprised how clean the Guest House was, showers were super hot, very modern bedroom and comfy bed. 5 star Breakfast and great hospitality by Jamie, sorry to miss meeting his fiancee who was very ill-Jamie you were a star!We will definitely be returning because there was so much to see and we didn't have time!It was a bonus because we were able to park outside the Guest House+ he let us park there because no-one was coming by car the sunday morning before we went home. Much appreciated!!! The town is only a 15 minute walk, and the night life was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the almar and wont be my last. Jamie is a warm, friendly host who couldnt do enough for you. Its a shame michelle was so ill this time because she is equally kind, warm and friendly.
The b+b is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovley. The bed in room one is nothing short of comfort to the highest degree.
I would recomend the Almar to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great b&b, modernised to an excellent standard. The place is really clean & tidy & the owner, Jamie, was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very tasty, with plenty of options. We'll definitely be back. - Simon & Gill

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollingworth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A warm friendly welcome from Jamie (unfortunately michelle was ill at the time of our visit,we hope she gets well soon) Although Jamie was mostly on his own this did not detract from the superb service provided. The room was very clean, warm and comfortable, breakfast was excellent .Nothing was too much trouble including giving useful information on Scarborough and the surrounding areas. All in all a perfect break at a very competitive and reasonable price. JUST LIKE HOME FROM HOME! We certainly highly recommend this hotel to all.
PAUL AND CAROLINE

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We knew we had found a great place to stay after our first visit....a warm welcome...nothing too much trouble....spotless throughout.....marvellous food...we rebooked on leaving and have now rebooked two more stays....keep up the good work Jamie and Michelle....see you again soon...Mark and Liz

Room Tip: All good..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! As the new owner of The Almar my aim is to continually improve the quality and facilities of the 3* guest house. With this in mind The Almar Beauty will be introduced during the summer for the convenience of all our future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Almar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.