We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lancashire lads and lasses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Hotel to your Saves list
Green Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   West Bank, Scarborough YO12 4DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“lancashire lads and lasses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

just spent 5 days at GreenGables.Excellent.Good family hotel,comfy rooms,excellent food,friendly helpful staff.Pool,library, games room, a beautiful park right on the door step with a childrens playground just yards from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much and thought it good value for money!we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments i am glad you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us. We do very much see ourselves as a family friendly hotel and i am pleased you agree. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
92
16
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night. We were with a group of 20.

I don't really have any issues with this hotel and it was exactly what we expected for the price. The rooms are large, basic and dated but they are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was nice. No complaints and I wouldn't hesitate staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a 5 person family room on July 9th to 10th although very basic it was comfortable and clean the decor in the room could have done with a little tlc but over all it was a nice room.The hotel had a lovely little pool which my grandchildren loved.The breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly.The car parking was a bit sparse and tight but we loved our stay there and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for you kind comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will come and stay with us again soon we are very much a family hotel and are of course family owned and run. It is good to hear you found our staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My first visit to this hotel, but I am already looking forward to my next visit. This is a well run basic family hotel. Catering for family and friends and groups like mine. The staff all very friendly, cheerful and attentive, for the price will have to go a very long way to beat. Well done the “Green Gables”.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will do their best to help you, very friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also good to hear the staff were helpful we do all try our best. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Having 3 children, we find it almost impossible to find a hotel that caters to our needs. More often than not we are told we need to book two rooms. However, Green Gables was excellent as they do a family room for £85 a night with breakfast. Yes the rooms are dated, but they are clean and comfortable. Our room consisted of one room with 3 single beds then a connecting door to the double room and the bathroom. On our first night we ate in the dining room (the conservatory part) and the food was good, cheap and plentiful. Breakfast in the dining room was just as good and again plentiful. Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble eg. extra toast, coffee, orange juice etc. £85 per night with breakfast for 2 adults, 3 children is a bargain.
The hotel is a good 20 minute walk to the seafront. Downhill all the way but if you wanted, you could catch the bus back up the hill. However, we and our three young children found it an easy and enjoyable walk. There is also a park at the back of the hotel. The hotel is situated at the top of a residential street but it was nice and quiet.
The pool is quite small and old fashioned but fine for our needs. Our children loved exploring the hotel. There are some huge rooms downstairs with comfy seating.
All in all, we were impressed mainly at the fact we could fit all five of us in one room but the food, surroundings etc were an added bonus and we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us our family rooms for 5 are popular with guests as there are not many around. Hopefully you will return soon as these rooms still represent good value for money for families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family and I stayed Sunday 6th May 2012 to Monday 7th May and found the hotel really nice with lots of amenities. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you.

This is our second visit here as overall it is a brilliant place and at £85 for a family room for 4 people you can't grumble. They also do apartments for renting which are very reasonably priced which is something we might consider in the future if we want to stay for longer than 1 night. I think you can rent an apartment for a minimum of 2 nights. The rooms are not posh as the decor is old fashioned but they are very clean with a hospitality tray which is just what we love about this place as we don't like anything too posh especially when you have small children. The rooms are very bright as the windows are very large which is another nice thing about this place.

The pool is great and very quiet and there is Farsgrave park right next door which our 5 and 7 year olds loved. Also there is a games room and bar. From the bar you can order pizza which is £4.95 for a large one and in the summer they open up the conservatory for evening meals.

Breakfast was fantastic and so tasty with quick service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is the second visit to the Green Gables, this time with our daughters friend in tow as well (making a party of five). A nice relaxing bank holiday weekend away from it all. On arrival, things didn't look so promising however as when we went to our room we discovered it was just a two bedroom/one bathroom room, rather than the self catering flat with kitchen and sitting room we were expecting.

A quick inspection of the booking form revealed that it was we who had made the mistake. A quick conversation later however, and we were accommodated in a two bedroom flat (C) up at the top of the hotel.

Yes, they had the capacity to do this; but the fact they did it without question because they could speaks volumes for the service they provide. While there we swam twice a day in their (warm) indoor pool, we had drinks (reasonably priced) in their bar and ate a great breakfast (we took the breakfast as an addition to the self catering - why not!).

the staff were always courteous and helpful, the place is massive - it is an old hospital which has been a hotel for 90 years, and it just feels like a family hotel should feel. There are not so many bells and whistles and the decor is not the corporate commonplace and dated in places, but the amenities and facilities in the building beat any rival - from the drying room, to the library, billiard room and lounge.

Yes the staircase seems wobbly (but is safe) as do some of the floors - this is merely a reflection its +100 years. The flat we stayed in had some modern touches - a high end 42 LCD screen, new sitting room furniture as well as the "quirky" older touches like the old radio and intercom built into the bedside tables and headboards.

All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone (especially for those with families who value space) and have no qualms with my intention of becoming a regular visitor.

Room Tip: The top floor is 4 floors up, and the lift is compact. There is no noise up here at all, but you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
I,m pleased to hear you once again enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to change your room at the last minute, thankfully it was not our mistake. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast even though you were selfcatering. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Hotel

Address: West Bank, Scarborough YO12 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Gables is a children family hotel offering Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Catering for School & other groups for residential conferences including church groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Green Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.