We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stay Won't stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Kenton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kenton to your Saves list
The Kenton
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't stay Won't stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay in this hotel 13 - 15 September 2013. Booked through Last Min.com after checking that it was suitable as we would be arriving late. Noticed on hotel website that it had a bar, and hotel advice on Lastminute.com stated that the hotel was not manned 24/7 so to ring ahead to make sure that someone would be there to check you in. Did as suggested 3 days before travel, spoke to Duane who informed me that he went to bed at 9 - 9.30 and asked could We not come earlier. I explained that we were working until lunch time then had to catch the boat followed by a 5 hour drive plus the boat was already booked. Duane's response, to cut a long story short, was that if we weren't there by 9.30pm we wouldn't get in. No exceptions. Was able to get money refunded from Lastminuet.com who also waived admin fee as they said that the circumstances were unreasonable.
So just to warn anyone who may be arriving late or unfortunate enough to be delayed Duane is totally inflexible, either your there or you don't get in. Not sure what time the bar closes?

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruskington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just came back from a 2 night stay here. It is a lovely B&B, room was nice and big with a good treeline view with the Moors in the background. Ensuite was also nice and big with a great shower! The breakfast was also great.

Duane the owner, was also very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Good location in the North Bay and not far to walk anywhere!

Brilliant place, stay here!

Room Tip: Room 7 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed for a two night break and was not disappointed, we were given room 3 a large family ensuite room with sea view, the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable, breakfast was served between 8:30-9:00 and was very nice.The owner was very pleasant and made you feel welcome. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Even though room 3 is a family room it can be booked as a double so you get loads of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

6 of us stayed at The Kenton for 1 night, 4 in a large, family room and 2 in a quite small double. The accommodation is basic but there's everything you need and it is spotless and rooms do have TVs, tea & coffee stuff etc. Didn't eat here though as breakfast was only 8.30 -9am on a Sunday morning - a little limiting for our party. Overall though The Kenton is amazing value if you want somewhere clean & convenient whilst staying in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Some people may find rooms at the front a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Drove up to Scarborough recently for a 3 day stay, actually booked our room at The Kenton on 'Late Rooms', i thought that it was excellent value for money, We paid for the accomodation only then added breakfasts when we arrived, The location is superb with just a walk across the road which overlooked the promenade and the sea. Our bedroom was clean and tidy with good size flat screen TV, also tea/coffee making facilities. The full english breakfast was superb and we were always asked if required extra juice or tea and coffee and of course toast. The guest house owner Duane was really friendly and helpful with nothing appearing too much trouble. The location is a 10 minute walk to shops and shopping centre, and about an hour from Whitby, We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend The Kenton to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in room 8 although very clean there was no where to hang your clothes and only just enough room for me an my partner to pass each other in the room, nice clean shower room but only enough room for one person at a time and were not that big! Was made up for by the owner who was nice and friendly made us feel very welcome and had phoned me the day before to say we could get in the room earlier which was very helpful as we could check in as soon as we arrived.

Room Tip: Room 8 ok if your on you own and don't mind climbing lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights may bank holiday weekend in a great position had the family room no 3 with a lovely sea view,spacious and comfy, we paid £130 for 2 nights didn't have breakfast.but that could be added for £4?if required.A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenton

Address: 139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenton is a medium sized guest house in Scarborough. We are located on Scarboroughs North bay with a panoramic view of the bay. We have a car park which is very rare in Scarborough and can be accessed from Queens Parade. The Kenton is constantly being updated and is about to get its exterior re painted. The en suite rooms are very spacious with very modern showers which are also large and spacious. We are only 10 mins walk from the town centre which is close for easy access yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet the north bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.