We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Earlsmere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Earlsmere
5 Belvedere Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 180 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Had a great stay at the Earlsmere. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and although they retain many traditional features, they are still modern and have everything you need. Breakfast was great, cooked to order. A lovely quiet spot but still only minutes walk through the Italian gardens to the beach. Thanks for a lovely stay Lynne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in The Earslmere when visiting Scarborough for bike racing on Olivers Mount.
First plus point was that it was close to the race circuit.
On our arrival, we were a bit unsure if we had made the right decision choosing The Earlsmere as there was scaffolding on the outside of the building. As it turned out, the scaffolding was on the next door property.
Lynn allowed us an early check in to allow us off to the racing which was very helpful.
When we arrived back, late in the evening, we were exhausted. We however slept extremely well in the comfortable big bed. Room was spotless, en-suite was spotless and everything you might expect was there.
We had a designated table for breakfast. Breakfast was cooked to order and it has to be said, it was very good on both mornings.
Great little Hotel, will certainly use again if visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Myself and my partner were having ork done on our home and had to find alternative accomodation, we chose the Earlsere. We were given Room 5 and upon arrial, Lynne took us round the hotel which was all very clean and lovely decor. Especially loved the gorgeous red carpets. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and had everything in it that we needed. Breakfast was fantastic everyday and both Lynne and Peter were always on hand to help with anything we needed. A lovely hotel with very nice friendly owners, would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just spent two lovely days at the Earlsmere, Lynne made us very welcome and the accommodation was superb, Room 6, was the best room we have ever stayed in, many original features. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful, we look forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just returned from a great weekend in Scarborough and had the pleasure of staying at the Earlsmere. This beautiful guest house would knock the spots of some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed at in the UK. Really nice welcome, we were early but it was not a problem as Lynne was waiting for us. A nice quiet street, lots of free parking and only 10 mins walk into town centre. Really nice room, clean and full of those extra touches eg: bath robes, tea, coffee, water ,biscuits and toiletries. Breakfast was to die for really yummy!! Overall FABULOUS and will definitely be booking again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I reviewed The Earlsmere around 3 years ago and would say that it has improved if that is possible. Lynne is a smashing welcoming host who should be very proud of her spotless, contemporary and comfortable bed and breakfast. We stayed in room 1 which is at the back of the house which hasn't got a view but is so comfortable with a huge kingsized bed the view is not that important. Homemade biscuits, fresh milk from the mini fridge outside the room and cold bottles of water. Breakfast is beautifully cooked and very hearty. Easy plentiful parking on the road outside. The hotel is in the quieter South Cliff area of Scarborough and is ideal for walking into the town or using as a base to visit the surrounding area.

Thanks Lynn we really had a good time

Chris and Terry

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

What can I say that hasn't already been said. The Earlsmere is a cut above the average seaside B & B. Lovely rooms (we had room 2) lots of space, massive bathroom with separate shower and roll top bath. Lovely 'extras' like bath robes, real coffee, fresh milk and biscuits.
Gorgeous breakfast, home made granola, jams and preserves and very good quality bacon and sausages.
We have never stayed in better B&B and we've been to lots!
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Earlsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earlsmere

Address: 5 Belvedere Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Earlsmere, completed in 1893, is a stunning Victorian house on Scarborough's beautiful South Cliff, offering four individually designed en-suite guest rooms. Moments from the historic Italian Gardens, The Earlsmere retains many of its original features, including gas lamps, a magnificent staircase and a truly unique six foot stained glass window. After a comfortable nights sleep guests are treated to a freshly cooked, locally sourced, full Yorkshire breakfast. The Earlsmere is a truly Special Place to Stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Earlsmere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Earlsmere to your Saves list