We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing and welcoming**********” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   33 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing and welcoming**********”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Just returned from Scarborough Holiday And Travel Lodge with my husband. We had a wonderful, peacefull and relaxing weekend away without the kids after a hectic and busy xmas. This hotel is exactly what we needed, lovely room with lcd tv and freeview, ensuite shower room and modern fixtures and facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. I have actually just rebooked to stay again in february and are taking our two children with us. I would definately recomend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing hastle free weekend break in a very friendly hotel. Karen Long from Breadfrd Yorkshire

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    66
    43
    20
    24
See reviews for
80
97
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We arrived to a friendly welcome and were shown to ur rooms 5 and 6. They were small and dated the shower cubicle was plastic and flimsy. The heating in neither room worked and both rooms had portable heaters in them but no heating in the bathroom. We made mention of this to one of the staff who said that he would make the management aware. We watied 15 minutes to no avail and eventually went through to reception ourselves. We were advised that they were trying to locate another 2 rooms for us. The lady on reception advised that they were not aware of the problem with the heating in the rooms which made me question why they provided portable heating? But did not really get an answer. We went to our new rooms which at first sight seemed ok. After unpacking I then discovered that the heating in the bathroom was not working. Again I mentioned this to a different member of staff who said that she would advise reception. 15 minutes later we went to reception who had no knowledge of my concerns. I was then told that they would look at it when the Manager returned to the hotel that PM. I returned to the room only to find that the loo would not flush and that the cystern was hanging off the wall and rattling and banging when used. By now I had really had enough we were only there for 2 days and had already lost most of the morning trying to check in. I requested a refund adn to their credit they gave me this straight away and apologised for the inconvenience My advice is do not book this hotel we found one not too far away on Columbus Ravine it was cheaper included brakfast and was clean and comfortable with everything working.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Do not stay here it is dirty the room was so small never cleaned no wardrobe only a skylight window which would not open smells of damp---the shower was a plastic unit dirty.
We had plastic glasses which were never cleaned or changed. l would recomened all to stay away--it needs closing down and everyone mistakes it for a travel lodge.
We love Scarborough and will be back but will give this a miss---BE WARNED.
The staff deserve better they were all lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The room and the whole of the Travel lodge was very very clean and the food delicious. The staff could not have been more helpfull and informative, the place is so relaxing.
WELL DONE TRAVEL LODGE (SCARBOROUGH)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Dismal, dirty room, frayed sheets, worn out mattress, battered furniture, smashed mirror with bits missing, dirty, loose grouting in the bathroom, shower a joke, everything we touched or had to look at was horrible.
We asked them to move us to a nicer room but they said they did not have one.

We had booked for two nights but just left after one, didn't bother to ask for our money back and can honestly say that this is the worst accommodation that we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in some bad ones.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just come back from a weekend in this hotel,we must have had the smallest room in scarborough,not even enough room to fit a wardrobe in it,the bed was so lumpy i think you could get sea sick in it.The shower was a joke,water just trickled out of it and if you flushed the toilet even slower if this was possible.Food,all i would say is avoid it,eat somewhere else don't waste your money.Scarborough is a great seaside town with lots of very good value for money hotels and B&Bs but not this one,iam not the sort of person who normally writes reviews but was very disappointed with this hotel and feel i had to.Will be going back to the resort but not in this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was looking on the inter-net for somewhere to stay a couple of nights in Scarborough when I came across The Scarborough Holiday and Travelodge. Although it didn't exactly say so I wrongly assumed it was part of the travelodge chain.Had I realised it was a very basic Guest House I wouldn't have dreamed of staying there. It was well overpriced considering breakfast was not included! The room was very small and very basic. There wasn't even a toilet brush in the en-suite. Room service didn't clean the toilet either!

The manager assured me that it was better than a travelodge because there was a bar and a restaurant. This was so, but we arrived back on the Sunday of our stay to find everything closed, even the front desk. Well, we thought there's always the tea and coffee in the room. But no, room service hadn't replenished that from the day before.

Thankfully we were only booked for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge

Address: 33 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on the principal of Travel Accommodation, Price Per Room and Not Per Person. All 33 bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities and remote controlled colour televisions. Family rooms can sleep up to five. Offering a Free off road car park, Funny Onions Bistro which serves breakfast and evening meals, Crosby's Bar and games room. Situated 10 min walk from the South Bay beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Travel And Holiday Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.