We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendley staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
The Crescent Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendley staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First time in this hotel, i hope it wont be the last. It was a very pleasant stay , friendly staff, good food, and pleasingly aesthetic public rooms. Our bedroom was huge, elegant and very clean, comfortable bed and quality soft furnishings, the en-suite was spotless, very spacious with large bath and shower. The location is perfectly situated for the town and spa complex. But remember in town you will get a certain amount of noise. The best views is from rooms facing the crescent park ,these are probably the quietest too.
Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: rooms over looking cresent gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    87
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
213
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
W.Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed a nice weekend at the Crescent hotel,both the room and the dining areas spotlessly clean with the breakfast excellent in choice and quality. Paid £88 for a Saturday night so not cheap but certainly worth it,tastefully decorated room with sea view. Staff pleasant and helpful,would definitely return!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm generally sceptical about hotels in seaside towns but loved this one. It is small enough to feel like a family hotel - but one owned by professional hoteliers who know what they are doing.

Very nice room (22). Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Antoni de Calonge, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived in time for lunch in the restaurant having checked in. This second restaurant in the hotel was the local hotspot for a super carvery lunch with fish or pasta alternatives. Lovely food and inexpensive with a nice glass of wine. Our room had a sea view and we parked up very close by with token parking from the hotel. The room and bathroom were clean cosy and well equipped - the bathroom had been recently re- modelled. Breakfast was far better than you'll find anywhere else and all the public rooms are newly furnished with comfy furniture and a nice bar. Our private dinner was beautifully prepared and delightfully served by friendly staff. We have stayed everywhere else in Scarborough over 20+ years and this is the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Once again we have returned from our annual treat to the cresent hotel for our wedding anniversary. We stay in the lonsborough room which is such a treat in itself you have enough room to have a party, it is spotlessly clean and looks onto the green in the middle of the crescent. All staff are polite and extremely helpful.The food is devine and plenty of it you really need to see and taste for yourself. As we leave we book again for the following year. It is really nice that the staff also remeber us and give us a warm welcome back. See you again next year.

Room Tip: Ask to check them out and then decide the best rooms look out onto the Cresent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms, Room 22 and the Londesborough room, both overlooking the Crescent. The rooms were superb, we have stayed in 5 star hotels where the rooms were not as large or palatial. The Londesborough was a suite in every sense of the word.
Location is great - 3 mins walk from station, there was no traffic noise, and all the staff we came across - chambermaids, reception, waiting, bar were absolutely charming. We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was excellent, no point at all wandering round Scarborough looking for somewhere to eat.

Trust the reviews. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Crescent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Faultless; excellent; quality; satisfaction; friendly; superb food.......I would agree with all the good words that previous guests have used. Stayed for twelve days, and would happily have stayed much longer. Exactly what I was looking for in a trip back to the 'old country' from Canada. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.