We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown House @ No 20

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown House @ No 20
Save
You added Crown House @ No 20 to your Saves list
20 Filey Road, Scarborough YO11 2TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
pt1234
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excelent Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Started with the best weather you could wish for car top down from leaving home to returning.
Crown house @ No 20. What accomodation, could not be bettered,
Barabara & Husband made you feel welcome from the arival to the departure.
Breakfasts just the best.
The room pure luxury

We have traveled and this must be the best.

Everyone should stay once in their lives. We will be back
A bucket must

Room Tip: The cream room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were in Scarborough for a wedding.This was the first time in ages we'd managed to get away from our farm and 3 small children, and we only had 24hours, but the luxury and ambience at Crown House made us relax as soon as we walked through the door. Our room was enormous, and emaculately decorated, and with a table, chairs and a sofa, more like a suite than a bedroom. Barbara was really welcoming and brought us tea and homemade brownies and biscuits, and she even lent me a pashmina to go to the wedding in! The bathroom was spotless, the hot water endless, and the little bags of essential oil bathsalts were a lovely added touch.
Breakfast the next day was perfect - freshly squeezed juice, fresh berries and fruit, yoghurt, homemade granola, proper thickly cut bacon and sausages - a real gourmet feast. We loved it! I can't recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Crown House at No. 20 was a marvellous place to stay for the weekend. We got a good deal on the two nights so great value. The house has been very tastefully refurbished, the Pink Room had everything we needed - with a great set up where we had the keys to the house and could come and go as we pleased. Barbara was very welcoming, and gave us useful information on where to eat and how to get about Scarborough. The home baking and real coffee was very welcome, and the breakfast was excellent. A place worth visiting. We will be back.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is indeed the very first time that I submit a review, however, I make no hesitation in conveying that if a sixth category did ineed exist in the "Traveller Rating" category -which exceeds the term "Excellent", I would, without a doubt, select that particular rating. My family and I reside in Caracas, Venezuela. We have stayed in both rooms; one as beautiful, impeccable and as comfortable as the next. Crown House is elegant, the rooms are detail oriented, the home is most welcoming, the hosts are most gracious and the breakfasts simply divine. Gonzalo and Jeanette

Room Tip: Either of the two spacious and charming rooms are invariably comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Crown House at 20 was faultless. The room was elegant and welcoming with everything needed for a stay, plus a lot more, including the most tasty home made cakes & biscuits every day. We had access when we wanted, with our own key which is great when the weather is bad, because there was a television with a range of DVDs. We were made so welcome by Barbara that we will now stay there every time we head to Scarborough visiting family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

No need to repeat all the positive comments only to say that I endorse them wholeheartedly. We stayed 2 nights in the Pink room and everything was just terrific. Importantly, Barbara has has an excellent and wide ranging knowledge of places of interest, cafes, bars and restaurants which is vital for the first time visitor with a short time available. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in the "pink room" which was spacious, immaculate, comfortable and very well equipment with stereo, DVD and iPod charger/player. Fresh tea and coffee in the room with lovely cakes and even jelly beans. The breakfast was also very special, all fresh and great selection. I didn't have eat again for a good 8 hours :-). Couldn't recommend The Crown House enough

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown House @ No 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown House @ No 20

Address: 20 Filey Road, Scarborough YO11 2TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown House @ No 20 is a recently renovated Victorian house on Scarborough's South Cliff providing 'boutique' style bed and breakfast for a discerning adult audience. Rooms are luxurious, food is delicious local home-cooking and parking is off-road and free. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown House @ No 20, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.