We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab first time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lea Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect service, helpful staff, great surroundings. For our first trip to the place, we found the staff most willing to assist us in every way. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the view was exactly as promised. Breakfast was perfect and my the year old was beautifully looked after.The pool was clean and refreshing. All in all, we were perfectly satisfied and would recommendthis hotel to everyone. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay as we pride ourselves in offering friendly, but professional service to all our guest, whatever their age.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
86
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hi there,just come back from the Red Lea Hotel we three ladies went to see the Celebrities on ice show at the Spa Complex it was Fabulous great show.On arriving at the hotel it was around 6pm as we had come straight from work,the lovely friendly greeting from Maria on reception was so nice,we had booked two rooms as we could not get a room with three beds when we booked it,but on checking in we just asked if the two rooms were near ,then the lovely Maria managed to give us a studio it was fabulous,then she sorted a sandwich for us for when we came back from the the Theatre at 10.30pm,over and above service i thought.Breakfast was good too,.Hotel was clean just a little tired looking,but overall very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and I will pass your comments onto maria. I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindley, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was rather apprehensive when I read some of the reviews of this hotel and did not know what to expect when I arrived with a group of friends for a walking weekend. But soon after we checked in, I was convinced that it was a really warm and friendly place. It is an unpretentious hotel that offers a friendly service. Members of staff were happy to serve and attend to us. Although my single room was quite small, it was adequate for its purpose, a place to return to after a day of walking. I enjoyed early morning swims in the pool in the basement before breakfast. It certainly was not designed for Olympic swimmers but is adequate for anyone who wants to splash around. It was clean every time I used it. The meals were decent and served hot. I would recommend Red Lea to anyone who wants a clean, friendly and pleasant hotel in Scarborough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

On reading the start of you review I was a little confused as too your comments with regards to your booking, but as you then go on to say you did enjoy your visit to the Red Lea. We pride ourselves in offering friendly but professional service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and thank you for recommending us to your friends.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed over for one night. The Hotel is close to the lift that takes you down to the Spa. I was at a venue at the Spa and this hotel was very convenient to the Spa cliff lift. The breakfast was served by waiting staff in a smart dining room and the food was excellent. I did not have time to take a look at the pool but hope to next time I stay there.

Room Tip: I booked over the internet and got a very good deal for the room I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of 9 cousins'n'spouses on our annual weekend meet-up, in Scarborough this spring,
we were well looked after at the Red Lea.I had known it thirty years ago staying with wife and 2 young children. This is not particularly a hotel for lively young families, given its popularity with seniors, in groups or otherwise. But a committed and friendly young staff led by the dedicated owners make all comers feel most welcome.

We were upgraded; the sun-filled front rooms (overlooking a pleasant garden square, and with extensive sea views to Filey Brigg) have been refurbished with taste and charm in the minimalist style now popular. The internal corridor, once rather gloomy, feels good thanks to LED. The beds were supremely comfortable, the bathroom immaculate.(NB our shower was not walk-in - over bath). The bedroom key/lock were a bit quirky, the sash windows also; think period character!.

Breakfast is served, not buffet, and is excellent. Supper too was well cooked and served, rather traditional in choices and style, but suited the hotel and clientele. Bar service attentive . The little front terrace is attractively maintained. The pool/spa in the basement looked good but we had no chance to use it. We stayed on, as the weather was so good - saw the first swallows this year, and porpoises playing off Castle Headland.

This is to my mind the best part of Scarborough, a wonderful old resort we all loved - primroses and daffodils brighten steep wooded cliffs down to the beach and Spa, cliff walks link various gardens; there's a working harbour. North of the castle a further bay beckons, with rather more rugged 'grander' scenery.

Room Tip: rear rooms would have limited outlook and sun compared to front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We didn't have any real complaints the staff are helpful & friendly. Breakfast was good and served at the table, the sausage spoilt it as it was obviously a cheap one. The rooms are dated but none the less clean & comfortable.
We stayed here as it was recommended by a local relative who is over 90, we overheard the other guests raving about the hotel so if you are retired you will probably love it, if not check trip advisor for a more suitable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel such a positive review. We pride ourselves in offering friendly and professional service to all our guests. The Red Lea is a traditional hotel and we have refurbished most of the hotel with this in mind.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was in the Theatre group who went with Michael (see his review) to this wonderful three star hotel which is run by a husband and wife team (Nick & Sue). I totally agree with Michael's comments; the staff, rooms and food were excellent and everyone's needs were catered for - even gluten free bread and gravy for me! There is a little park opposite the hotel with plenty of seats and the vehicular railway, down to the beach is just 5 minutes away (if that); there is an hourly bus service into town from outside the hotel or a short walk up the road to a more frequent service. Yes, the hotel is old and as such one should not expect to find the most modern décor as it would not be in keeping with the age of the building. I am appalled at the comments made in some reviews as they are not at all as we found the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add a review on the Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hotel and to Scarborough, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.