We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Raincliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Raincliffe Hotel
21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Returning for the third time in three years, I found all the proposed building work and renovations completed (to a really high standard), and the friendly welcome from Katherine and Mal made me feel well and truly at home. I stayed for four weeks and enjoyed every single moment of it. My room was tastefully furnished, the bed really comfortable, and the food was truly excellent.
I dined in every single evening because Mal's cooking is unsurpassable, and he always uses local produce cooked fresh each day. My idea of heaven! I will return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: I was delighted with single occupancy of a standard double room, but there are also some really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
120
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A most warm welcome. Room was spacious and spotless. Teas in the room included green and fruit teas. The evening meal was plentiful. Award winning Quiche... thanks Mal. Over 300 B&B's in Scarborough and I was lucky enough to book here I will certainly book in the Raincliffe when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We would stay nowhere else in Scarborough, yet again everything was perfect, with excellent company adding to a very happy, comfortable & relaxing break. Love Scarborough for the views, the interesting history, the nostalgia, the cliffs , ease of visiting lovely surrounding countryside & villages, but most of all we love returning to The Raincliffe and all the pleasures Mal & Katherine offer their guests / friends.

Room Tip: We love the superior double with king-sized bed, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very comfortable, we were very happy here. The owners are very cute together. I had a sore throat and the owner went and got me some throat lozenges...which I truly appreciated!! The breakfast was very nice and had a great selection of food. It was all around a very enjoyable place to stay. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed with Katherine & Mal. The welcome is always special & have enjoyed our stays at the Raincliffe Hotel. We love the extra spacious rooms that have just been completed this year; they are so light & beautifully decorated (Well done Katherine). The Evening meals that we enjoy are exceptional & of really high quality. Mal makes a point of only using locally sourced ingredients, wherever he can. We never know "what’s for tea" until we arrive & this weeks Chicken & Leek pie with all the trimmings was scrummy.... mmmm! (Thank you Mal). After a good nights sleep in a lovely comfy Four Poster bed, we went down for breakfast- I had Kippers & brown bread with Lea & Perrins sauce - fantastic( although I may break with tradition the next time & try the Yorkshire Sauce you suggested Mal), Allan had his usual cooked Breakfast- which sets him up for the day. Already booked in for next month. We highly recommend this hotel as being a really welcoming home from home Thanks to the hospitality of Katherine & Mal. xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

we have just arrived home after staying at the raincliffe hotel we found the hotel excelent the room was spottless and the hosts mal and kath were brillaint i can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed at and the food is excellent mal cooks a mean breakfast the size of the breakfast is huge but you get so many choices both mal and kath cant do enough for you i would strongley recomend this hotel to any one we will deff be going back for another stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having read the reviews for this hotel I was sceptical that it wouldnt be able to live up to its expectations...but it absolutely did ! We were welcomed by Katherine and Mal who were very friendly and excellent hosts throughout our stay. The building is kept upto a very high standard...even as we arrived which is almost the end of the season they were having a new sign fitted etc. The cleanliness everywhere was spot on. The quallity of furniture and furnishings was of a high standard and the beds were very comfortable. We paid a small amount (£4.00) for a parking permit which allowed us to park right outside the hotel for 4 days. The breakfast was also excellent...even with a fussy OAP we had in our party ! If we returned to Scarborough we would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel....not via Booking.com etc. It appears we saved around £100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raincliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.