We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A food lover's delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leaping Hare

The Leaping Hare
Warren House, Scarborough yo124pg, England
+44 1944 711775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $39 - $79
Cuisines: English, French, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The supper club and pop-up revolution is gathering speed in the UK. For Those of you who have not heard about the concept, th and idea is really quite simple: rather than go to a chain restaurant or pub tired, passionate cooks across the country are opening the doors to Their homes and inviting people to try Their inventive and exciting cuisine. The Leaping Hare is located near Ganton, with stunning views over the Wolds. When the weather Permits, we will eat al fresco in the courtyard arches, with drinks served on the sloping lawn overlooking the valley. When its colder, we have large farmhouse kitchen, dining room, and reception rooms with wood burners and open fires to keep things toasty! We endeavor to create exciting and inventive dishes, with ingredients sourced locally and used in season. Our main focus will be contemporary Anglo-French cuisine, with a twist, anche Although we plan to offer themed evenings offering food from all over the world. We have some of the finest ingredients to choose from right here in North Yorkshire, and we think it's the perfect time to open our doors for a new and exciting dining experience. Our inaugural evening will be held on Saturday 8th February 2014 at 7.00Pm We look forward to welcoming you! Selma, Jay Roxy and the whole LH team!
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A food lover's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a treat - Jay, the chef, produced some amazing food. Each course was beautifully presented and the combination of flavours was memorable. Hard to choose our favourites but the ceviche of wild trout, roasted wood pigeon with smoked butter pomme puree and the rhubarb pana cotta were right up there! Selma and her family have created a gem of a place with a lovely, friendly atmosphere. On arrival we were greeted with a delicious house cocktail and a spectacular view over the Yorkshire Wolds. You take your own wine to accompany dinner and the quality of food is great value for money. Cant recommend highly enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent vegan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

excellent food right through from the amuse bouche to the sweet, beautifully presented and extremely tasty. lovely farm house setting and good convivial company. highly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An exciting new venture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Eating at Leaping Hare is a very interesting experience because you are eating in some-ones home. Not only is the food and the service of a very high standard, but the atmosphere is one of being in a dining room of a private house at a dinner party. We all joined in by sitting at shared tables and made new friends.whilst enjoying a delicious meal. It was a set menu, which, I for one, was happy with as I trusted that a lot of time and effort had gone into deciding it. I could relax and appreciate the good company. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful vegan meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Beautifully presented Vegan meal with attention to detail and wonderful mix of textures and flavours. Perfect portion size for a four course meal. I can't recommend the opportunity to eat at the Leaping Hare highly enough. Excellent service, warm welcome and great company. Great value for money. I would love to return when they host another vegetarian and vegan evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You need a good reason to miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

In W1, London, you might reasonably expect great food on your doorstep, but in YO12? Well, the answer is very definitely YES, we can! The Leaping Hare is as good as anything you will get anywhere for the price and, in our case, on our doorstep: I can even sneak back down the track without ever touching the public highway. What could be better?

Actually, I am underrating what is on offer: the food is absolutely delicious with a sinful variety to it, yet I did not come away feeling unduly padded. From beginning to end, my bouche was tres amusé. The service is great and friendly without being freakishly martial. And just so that you know I am not being slavishly fawning, I think the reception and cocktail when the diners arrive needs a wee tweak to streamline it and make it seem effortless. More the fault of the venue than the hosts however, as Warren House has quite small reception rooms (well, smallish for 20 odd people), but on the other hand, it does add to the intimacy of the evening.

I am away in Argentina so will miss the next one. Please cry for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leaping Hare also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Leaping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leaping Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.