We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 - 38 Esplanade | Centre of the Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay at this hotel on Sat 30th November as a pre-christmas break! Upon our arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, who advised that we could have a free room upgrade! Our room (103) was of excellent standard and furnished in a modern but classy manner. The cleanliness was excellent! All the hotel staff were welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble, it really felt like they truly wanted to provide a quality relaxing stay...which they did! We ate out at a local tapas restaurant but returned for drinks in the bar which was well stocked and staffed by wonderfully attentive bar staff. The next morning we ate breakfast from the extensive buffet included in our stay. There was literally something for everyone on offer, from traditional cooked breakfast to continental and the variety of tea amazed me (a hardened tea-a-holic!!). All in all this was THE best over night stay we have ever had in the U.K...well done to all the staff for their amazing service! We will be back. x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    220
    137
    86
    52
See reviews for
113
324
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My Husband and I attended a Spa day for 2 via a Groupon deal. It included full use of the Spa facilities, a Mud Rasul and glass of fizz. We weren't able to book in on a weekend so had to take a days annual leave each and are now wishing we hadn't bothered! Mis-leading photos on the website making the pool area appear much bigger than it is. The reality being that the middle section is the width of a one person swim lane! The pool was cold meaning that the 'Jacuzzi' was also cold as this was simply a section of the pool that you had to activate by getting out and pressing a button on the wall. At 5ft 9ins I'm above average height for a woman yet my head was only just above the water level within the Jacuzzi making it even more unpleasant. The 'relaxation room' was anything but and the staff were not helping to make this a relaxing environment. To make matters worse our 'deal' at £49.00 (down from £120.00 apparently!) was above the price that we would have paid had we have purchased this directly from the hotel as they were offering this at just £35.00 per couple! The only difference with their offer and the one we purchased on Groupon was that ours had a glass of fizz included, however as we were never offered this, the deals were basically the same! I will however say that the food we had (which came at an extra cost) was very nice, however not before I had it practically thrown over me by the clumsy staff! Very small changing facilities (Men and Women have to change in the same room) with poor Spa facilities which meant that we left very soon after our treatment. Our Spa 'day' therefore turned into a Spa 'hour and a half'!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

only stopped one night,small room,but clean and very friendly staff,a bit out of the way but a lovely walk into the town,only been to scarborough one before,but will return again sometimeand would use this hotel again,maybe btry the spa facility's next time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador for a family wedding in October and this was the fourth time we have stayed there (we have family in Scarborough.)

Our family room was lovely and spacious and bearing in mind we had two children, including a baby sharing with us, we never felt cramped.

We ordered room service on our first night at the hotel and the meal when it came was very tasty, although my Caesar salad could have stood to have a bit less dressing on it.

Breakfast at the hotel the next morning was delicious and the self service format meant that it didn't matter so much if our daughter wanted to eat her breakfast in an unusual order!! :-)

We were lucky in that weather was lovely and clear whilst we were there and the views down onto the bay from the restaurant were just stunning. We didn't use the spa facilities on this occasion, but have during our previous stays and have found the spa, whilst small, is pleasant and treatments are good.

Another great stay at the Ambassador.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I came to the Ambassador hotel for a wedding in October, I have never seen a room look so amazing! The tables were dressed in a shabby chic style, everywhere you looked there was something new to see. The food was lovely and served with a smile and I was pleased to be met at the bar by a barman who knew how to serve a gin and tonic properly with fresh lime. I have been back since the wedding for a spa day with my girlfriend, we loved the pool and sauna, the service was perfect! We both loved the messy mud rasul!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked an executive room. What a shock. View was lots of windows. One of our room windows was frosted glass so couldn't see anything from that window. Very small room with a very badly cracked ceiling. Steps down to an area with a two seater settee in and a small television on a wall. Bathroom , Cracked wall mirror(not a small crack either) handle on bath held in place with blue tack.Shower curtain held up with black tape. We had booked in the spa for a mud treatment, this was great and the staff were lovely. Infact, the Spa was a lovely .experience.
We had an evening meal in the Hotel ,which was adequate, but was spoilt by the sweet course, my cheese cake was a soggy mess. The Breakfast was excellent.
On leaving I asked if we had been in an executive room and was told we had, apparently because it had a "snug area" (the settee bit) then it was classed as executive!!!!!!!!! All communal areas kept very clean. Staff very attentive and happy.

Room Tip: Ask where your room will be . 212 not a good room. View is terrible. lots of talk on internet site o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

just returned from another stay at the ambassador hotel with our freinds.after reading some of the reviews i must say the hotel is spotless food is first class and the staff our so helpful.we have been to this hotel for years (would not stay anywhere else) mr.sanders

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Spa Hotel

Address: 36 - 38 Esplanade | Centre of the Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Spa Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views. Pamper yourselves with a selection of rejuvenating and highly effective treatments that work in natural synergy with your skin, body & mind. Indulge in our unique multi-sensory Heat & Aqua retreat experience suite, Mud Rasul, rooftop Zen Garden & indulgent Treatment Rooms, which are the very essence of luxurious relaxation. Indulge your tastebuds on modern British cuisine in our boutique View Bistro & Bar Lounge. Shake it up with our Mixology Masterclass sessions where your group can learn how to stir up the perfect cocktail! Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We’re perfect for group getaways, weddings, conferencing & events. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free parking permit with the majority of our rooms boasting stunning Sea-Views of the South Bay, Castle & Harbour! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.