We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep EVER in a hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 - 38 Esplanade | Centre of the Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
West Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep EVER in a hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for one night on a Groupon deal but as a treat for my hubby I paid to upgrade to a Premier room. WOW!! Room 206 is to be highly recommended. Comfy armchairs in a large bay window with a view of the whole of South bay and THE comfiest bed EVER!! (It didn't fit in my suitcase unfortunately!!)

All staff we encountered were very pleasant and polite, from the receptionist who checked us in through to the waiting on staff in the restaurant.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    220
    139
    88
    53
See reviews for
113
327
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We loved this hotel. Our Sea View family room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable - even the childrens' beds which are often camp beds or converted sofas. High quality duvets and pillows made for a good night's sleep. Fantastic views all around the bay and the ozone wafts through the windows. We didn't get an offer bit felt we had good value for money. The parking is free and close by. The next night we stayed at the Premier Inn and by the time I had paid for parking and breakfast, the Ambassador worked out at very little extra. I looked at other large hotels in this town and most of them looked grubby and uncared for. The Ambassador stands out amongt the crowd. well done!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed with some friends and the location and building are beautiful! However, the pool area is dirty and the windows filthy!!
The light in our bathroom did not work despite me contacting reception and the receptionsist had to come up to operate the t.v.
The restaurant manager is rude and got one of his staff members to plonk the outstanding bill in front of us whilst we were having a drink in the bar area!
The waitree named 'Gemma' is outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very pleasant!
We stayed in an upgraded room which was nice overlooking the sea.
Overall the bar area and restaurant are gorgeous and the food is adequate for the price, it is let down by some of the areas looking tired and dirty. Thank you Gemma for being so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Very dissapointing facilities.
The sauna didn't work
Inadequate changing room
No shower facilities to use after you have been in the pool , you have to get dry and dressed and go back Yo your room to shower

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I was so impressed with the friendly staff that could not do more to be helpful im writing this.

Highly recommend the restaurant the food is great.
I stayed 28 to 31 August 2011 with my 4 daughter who enjoyed the band; we stayed on the first floor in room 103 Great room.
Book with confidence - you'll have a good stay!
I paid full price, booked direct with the hotel worth every penny my daughter loved it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

* Booked 3 double rooms and we were on different floors.
* The showers in room 300 and 101 were rubbish, thankfully we showered sat morning before leaving home. Had to wait until getting home Monday night to have another one
* The band in the bar saturday night were very loud and can be heard on most of the 1st floor, especially room 109. Its great being kept awake till 11pm when you've been up since 5am
* Room 300 gets the smell from the kitchen thanks to the ventilation shaft being next to the window
£89 per night per room...a lot of money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I booked a night at the Ambassador in back in March for a visit in August, It was a "special" weekend and we had been to Flamborough the night before. The hotel is in a lovely spot, the staff are great but i was gutted with our room. I had booked a deluxe sea view and whilst the room was nicely decorated and did indeed have a seaview, it was very small with only a queen size bed. we had stayed in Flamborough the night before in a B&B with a much superior room. The hospitality tray had only tea and coffee, there bathroom only had a multipurpose shower/shamppo, foam bath. I was very disappointed. Breakfast was great but I had hoped for and paid for a much better room ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Spa Hotel

Address: 36 - 38 Esplanade | Centre of the Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Spa Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views. Pamper yourselves with a selection of rejuvenating and highly effective treatments that work in natural synergy with your skin, body & mind. Indulge in our unique multi-sensory Heat & Aqua retreat experience suite, Mud Rasul, rooftop Zen Garden & indulgent Treatment Rooms, which are the very essence of luxurious relaxation. Indulge your tastebuds on modern British cuisine in our boutique View Bistro & Bar Lounge. Shake it up with our Mixology Masterclass sessions where your group can learn how to stir up the perfect cocktail! Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We’re perfect for group getaways, weddings, conferencing & events. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free parking permit with the majority of our rooms boasting stunning Sea-Views of the South Bay, Castle & Harbour! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.