We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hospitality with a couple of minor buts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Helaina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Helaina to your Saves list
The Helaina
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“5 star hospitality with a couple of minor buts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautifully appointed, extremely clean, more than your average in terms of the hospitality tray, very clean, breakfast was a hoot with the very friendly Leanne. Loved the wholemeal toast, as an earlier reviewer noted, the full English and the omelettes were excellent. The stairs , all 49, were great for exercise ; a little tiring though, but we were well aware of this before arrival.

Only small downsides were the smallness of the room and therefore the bed, which was a little small for a man of my stature (6ft and the same wide ), but very comfortable nonetheless, and a bit of a squeeze to get around the bottom of the bed. Room was stuffy but not so as to affect my sleep. The point made by a prior reviewer about the noise the gulls make is churlish in the extreme. What do you expect for the seaside?

Anyway, we will definitely be back.

Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Rooms 9/10 do not have a seaview. Don't know about any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    54
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
207
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Bed was really comfortable, just as the last couple of reviewer noted, I'd like to take it home with me.We had a nice breakfast, loved the brown toast! The decor in the hotel is nearly Art Deco, but it's modern as well. It's a long long way from those seaside boarding houses of yesteryear. Bathrobes and chocolates and an honesty bar downstairs all made it fab, oh yes I almost forgot, and then there's the view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our hostess Natalie was wonderful - her enthusiastic welcome and knowledge of Scarborough set the tone for a lovely stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was beautiful - although a bit tight for room for getting around the end of the bed. The view from our room was spectacular. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Tom, the owner, and Natalie, the staff, were exceptional hosts. Their warmth and hospitality had us feeling we had arrived at a dear relative's home. The view from our room was breathtaking and the bed was incredibly comfortable. A great breakfast started our morning, followed by a day of exploration (much of it suggested by Natalie) in and above the village. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Loved my experience here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect weekend away!
Lovely B&B with friendly staff, gorgeous breakfast and beautifully decorated rooms and accomodation. Couldn't fault it!

Brilliant location overlooking the sea- will definately recommend to others and will come back again.

Staff also recommending restaurants and places to go as well as chocolates on the best - nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was our honeymoon. A lovely hotel with superb seaviews. Close to town with the beach on the doorstep. Friendly staff and yummy breakfast. Our room felt like home from home, very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Had high expectations of the Helaina after reading outstanding trip advisor reviews. However, do not book this if you are not good with stairs or dislike views of dismal run-down buildings. Firstly, the rooms are overly hot at night leading to an uncomfortable night's sleep. Secondly, we had not booked a sea-view but were not expecting to wake up to the hideous sight of run-down houses at the back. The night was extremely noisy and constantly interrupted by seagulls and people walking past. The honesty bar is good, but quite empty at best and breakfast stops at 10am sharp. Overall, quite saddened to say we were disappointed with our stay and won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms for 2012. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Helaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.