We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charges for parking really??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
01723 373414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 18 Attractions in Scarborough
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays!Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE ScarboroughNow you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It’s a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels.Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There’s only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
ducky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charges for parking really??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having spent a week at whitby, we decided to visit Sealife using the online discount.
Being prey to the weather, we tried to change the day booked, only to be told that all bookings were none refundable or exchangeable. Not a good start.
On arriving, we were shocked to find that we had to pay to park in addition to the astronomical entrance price we had already paid!!!
The attractions were fair, but the restaurant is very poor (another £8 for four drinks) and we decided over priced burgers were not high on our agenda.
1 hour later and a visit to a toilet which didnt lock we decided to have fish and chips on the sea front, delicious.
All in all a visit to the beach is a far more worthy activity for children, and its free!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
We endeavour to ensure that all of our visitors have a great time here and I am sorry that on this occasion, you feel this wasn't the case for you. We do encourage our guests to speak with a Duty Manager on the day of their visit in order for us to try and resolve any concerns.
The car park situated directly outside the centre is owned and operated by Scarborough Borough Council and we have no responsibility for the charges imposed.
We appreciate all feedback. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    251
    183
    100
    67
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brixham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well laid out areas and plenty of signs to put you in the right direction. Knowledgeable staff who were passionate about there charges.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
It's great to hear that you found our team members knowledgeable and passionate - conservation is at the heart of everything we do at SEA LIFE and we thank you for recongnising that. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good with half price vouchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It does what it says on the tin! Very pricey without half price vouchers though! We only go when it is sunny as it is too busy when it's raining.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank yor for taking the time to offer a review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. We appreciate all feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went on Friday with our 4 year old grandson,originally planning to go to the deep but punned for here,mistake number 1,got a ticket from car park which cost £5 thinking we would be in there quite a while,mistake number 2, even with the 50% off it still cost over £8 each,we walked around and it took just over an hour and that was with going around twice,otters were asleep so never saw them seals hiding so only saw 1, sharks look nice and turtle but after watching them for 20 mins they even get boring,everything was £1 if you wanted to do anything else,so we left paid parking again at north side car park and spent 5 hours on beach and peasholm park,so skip the sealife save your money and head for beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
It is disappointing to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail.
Using a 50% off voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10 which we feel is good value for money. We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.
The car park directly outside the centre is owned and operated by Scarborough Borough Council.
We appreciate all feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not happy at price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I just visited this sea Life last week - very disappointed - Had days out voucher from Tesco which said they would take it only to find out at the counter they stopped doing this voucher recently, had to pay £39.00 for 2 adults and a 4 year old. Very expensive considering we went to The Deep which took our voucher - are cheaper - lot more to do and better displays - my son wanted to play golf and we had to pay a further £6 for this. Restaurant - not a lot of choice at all and the jacket potato looked like it had been standing for ages, salad not very good. My son would not eat it - another rip off. One of the displays leaking - couple of toilets not working. Another £1 for the gold rush game - telescope not working. Not one of the best sea Life centres I have been to - had been looking forward to it as well. Will not be re-visiting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to our attraction. We do accept Tesco Clubcard Reward Tokens for pay in full adult and child tickets at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. Our agreement with Tesco is such that the tickets must represent each person and we are unable to accept any tokens with a monetary value i.e. £10, £20 etc. This is made clear on the Tesco website.
We do encourage our guests to speak with a Duty Manager during the visit if there are any concerns. If you chose not do this, your comments on to the management team. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.