We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan 2013 review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
+44 1723 373414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 83 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opening Easter 2015: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their upgraded pool and waterfall - you could even pick up a fish and treat them to lunch!* Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Jan 2013 review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sealife is the same as you'd expect any sealife to be. It's educating and interesting if you are interested in this kind of thing. You take the bus from the centre. It takes around 20 minutes but it's a nice journey and you get to see some nice views of the sea. You could walk from the Castle but that would take around 15-20 minutes.

Inside there are plenty species on display. Their 'hit' seems to be the giant turtle, which is very big indeed! They have penguins which are always fun to see, otters and a seal rescue centre. There were two seals that had just been rescued. It was pretty sad to see because they were ill, but obviously being looked after. It makes you feel better that you know your entrance fee is being put to good use.

Entrance fee - a few reviews are complaining it's expensive. Well it's not cheap to run a place like this, and if you are aware of what they do (as with the seal rescue) and conservation you'll understand why it might cost. Obviously if you are coming here just for something to do it might seem abit much but as stated on other reviews if you book online previous to turning up you can get a discount.

The centre isn't the biggest albeit. After you have finished there isn't anything but a pub/restaurant across the car park and if using the bus, it's every hour. So plan wisely and leave when the bus is due.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    279
    200
    115
    70
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed visit to the Sealife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Paid only £11 entrance fee as you get on-line discount when booked on-line and advanced from the sea-life website so it was worth the money :).Only spent a hour and a half as it was off season and was really really quiet with just me my partner and 3 groups of people.Enjoyed the display of all different kinds of Marine life and the information boards are very informative.Loved the fact that they had a seal rescue centre but I was abit emotional seeing 2 seals recovering in their separate booths as one was rescued as it been drifted off shore and was losing weight and the other was shot by youths but thankfully they was arrested.The restaurant was pretty decent very spacious and menu prices are good ,as always the gift shop are overpriced so nothing new there.Would come again if i ever visit Scarborough again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never pay full price, it is a ripp off.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nobody pay full entrance fee, as is far too expensive. We got a buy one get one free from scarborough tourist website so only cost us £15. We spent 3hours and had a superb afternoon. My wife fed the rays with bits of squid and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our 9 month old daughter showed interest at watching the fish. Nice clean baby changing. Cafe slightly expensive but to be expected. Interesting exhibits that are clean. All in all a good afternoon out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good but far too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we used to visit regular but i noe feel that it is on the expensive side as all 4 of us are adults and would love to still come but cant afford

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is quite a small sea life centre with few animals.With the clever use of mirrors it looks much bigger. Thought the ticket price of £18 per person, £15 per pensioner was way too high.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.