We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
01723 373414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 18 Attractions in Scarborough
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays!Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE ScarboroughNow you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It’s a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels.Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There’s only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
rotherham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fab attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited here last week during our visit to scarborough, we come every year because our little boy loves it. We especially love that every year there is something different to do and new things to see. This year was the introduction of the pirate crazy golf needless to say we all loved it and will be back next year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    250
    183
    100
    67
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant hour.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Bit expensive for what it is, however we did get a 2 for 1 entrance with a voucher from our guest house.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“a good way to spend a couple of hours if its raining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As my tag line suggests we went here as the weather turned foul and we were looking for somewhere to entertain our 2 year old for a few hours. The b&b owner where we were staying had warned me that it was expensive to get in if you turned up and paid full whack and it would have been....but she gave us a 2 for 1 voucher for full paying adults and under 3's are free so at £15 it was pretty reasonable, but i wouldn't say the full price admission would have been worth it.

Disneyland seaworld it isn't but there was more than enough to see for an hour or two with seals. penguins etc. in the outdoor section. It also has good views acrosss the bay, where we spent a bit of time watching idiots walking along the prom whilst waves crashed over the sea wall !!!

The shark tunnel and octopus garden were our favourites and i have to say i am suprised at some of the harsh reviews on here. It would have been nice to have gone on the north bay train to it, but the weather put paid to that!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are annual membership card holders and my husband, myself and our two grandchildren enjoyed this yesterday just as much as the first time we went Staff very helpful and knowledgeable - a credit to the company. Keep up the good work

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too far from Scarborough centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good sea life centre- the seals were quite upsetting and distressing to see. Most areas haven't bothered to accomodate for pushchairs/wheelchairs and you don't realise this until half way round. Long queues but nice play area upstairs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.