We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion House Scarborough to your Saves list
Mansion House Scarborough
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   45, Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a lovely b&b in a superb location on the South Cliff Esplanade. My room was warm, comfortable and quiet with everything I needed. The bathroom was very well equipped and the bed was so comfortable! The charming young man on reception was very friendly and helpful and really made me feel welcome. The breakfast was beautifully cooked, fresh and generous with a very wide choice. Reading the complimentary papers in the huge, sumptuous lounge looking out over the sweep of the south bay before heading into town was heaven. The shopping centre (or beach) are a pleasant ten minute walk away and there is plenty of free parking on the street (you're out of the disc zone at that part of Esplanade). All in all, a really relaxing stay at a beautiful establishment filled with lovely solid antique furniture; nothing cheap or tacky here. There really is nothing to find fault with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your very sincere comments and for sharing them with other guests. All the staff commented on how nice it was to look after you during your short stay with us and it really is appreciated when our guests are so complementary. Our staff at the Mansion House are dedicated to ensuring our guests are very well looked after whilst not being over-bearing. Although you do not live to far away we all look forward to being able to welcome you back.again soon Once again thank you for your lovely review and all the staff would like to join me in wishing you a Very Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    96
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
229
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the mansion house last new years eve this is a proper traditional b&b loved it the double room we booked was fantastic huge room, lovely features, massive bed, even bigger tv all finished off with a very good well served hot breakfast! Best place to stay in Scarborough without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your very valued comments and review and also for sharing them with other potential guests. All the staff enjoy serving at New Year with the Bucks Fiz Breakfast to start the New Year off. Given the timing of this years event we are offering a special deal for the extra day on New Years Day. Whilst we were dissapointed that we did not manage to get a 5 Star Review from you we would be grateful to be given another opportunity at trying to achieve this so we hope to see you in the not too distant future. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansion House Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked a two night stay. Nice comfortable room with really comfortable bed. Clean and warm with a huge bathroom. Dressing gowns, flat screen tv, tea coffee and chocolate, kettle, water. Bathroom condiments provided. BIG breakfast, cooked to order. Fabulous choice, if you can't find something you like there is something wrong with you. Quiet and staff nice, pleasant and unobtrusive. Definitely a recommendation and a great location. Far enough out of the more energetic part of the town but close enough to dip in if you want. I would deffo go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind and constructive comments and for sharing them with other potential guests. All the staff are very pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us at the Mansion House Scarborough and hope you may decide to have another short break to lovely Scarborough in the future. If that is the case I hope you will give us the pleasure of being able to serve you once again and maybe you should try another room option here. In any event we very much look forward to your return however, in the meantime have a happy and peaceful Christmas..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although it was only bed and breakfast, the amount of food offered at breakfast was enough to keep you going well into the afternoon and the food itself was delicious and all home cooked. The staff were always pleasant and willing to help and very courteous at all times.
On checking in, you were offered a drink and some nibbles if you wanted them ( a nice touch I thought ) and then you were shown to your room.
Our room had tea & coffee making facilities, a flat screen tv, clock radio alarm, bedside lights at both sides and an en suite with a bath and shower. My husband being over 6 foot tall loved the bath as he could stretch out in it no problem, a luxury you don't often find these days. The added niceties of bubble bath, shower gel etc were a good touch.
The lounge in this establishment is very large and very comfortable and to my amazement the bar system works on an honesty policy. Guests take whatever drink they want from the fridge or bottle and there is a price list and an honesty box. You can either pay for it there , by writing on the form your room no and name and amount and putting it into the honesty box or ticking a box saying you wanted it added onto your bill. In this day and age I find that truly amazing that there are still some people out there who are willing to trust you and I highly commend the Mansion House for this and only wish more people were like you.
We truly had a wonderful time in Scarborough and I would highly recommend the Mansion House to everyone. The views from this establishment overlook the South Bay and Harbour and they are stunning!
For those of you who are fit enough to walk, a good 10 minute stroll will have you in the main shopping district, whereas if you need a taxi all we ever paid was £4.70 There are 2 types of taxi firms operate in Scarborough we found. The white cabs that sit on the streets will charge an extra surcharge to take you back to the Mansion House and that cost us nearly £7 whereas the other cab company we used always charged the same amount all the time £4.70, so be warned.
I nearly forgot. The Mansion House has free WIFI and if you're an addict like me that's a big plus these days as most places charge for it.
All in all this is a great place to stay. I can not fault it, and I am very picky!
One nice last touch I forgot to mention. On registering one of the questions asked was if we were there for any special reason. I put down birthday and anniversary. The next day when we came back to our room there was an envelope on our bed and on opening it there was a birthday card inside signed by all the staff and the owners. A lovely touch!! We had gone to Scarborough to celebrate my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary 2 days later. Little things like this make The Mansion House stand out from the rest of the places in Scarborough.
Thank you for a great stay. We truly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your very comprehensive review and also for taking the time to comment on all of the facets on the running of this lovely property. All the staff here at the Mansion House Scarborough are very conscientious and work hard in an effort to ensure that all the guests receive the best possible experience whist staying with us. Around 75% of guests who do stay with us return again so we hope to continue if not better this average. It is so much appreciated to us all to know that you you noticed all the little touches that we have. Thank you for sharing your experiences with other guests and potential guests and we hope you will be able to return and share again another wonderful experience at the Mansion House Scarborough. I thank you once more and look forward to seeing you all again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2012 and found the place really calm and restful. Situated well away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to get to all the attractions on foot, as long as you are able bodied. Everywhere is kept spotless and the breakfasts are excellent - really set you up for the day. The bed was very comfortable and everywhere is furnished to a high standard. The bedrooms are quite small but there is a large comfortable lounge. All the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for sharing them with potential guests. The staff really appreciate your kind words as they spend a great deal of effort trying to ensure that our guests are well looked after. We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to this lovely part of the Yorkshire Coast. Once again a sincere thank you for both myself and all of the hard working and very cheerful staff at the Mansion House Scarborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

great place to stay.would have given
straight fives if my room had been bigger it was room 7 avoid if possible.staff were really smiley and helpful.breakfasts were really well cooked.all in all a jolly good experience.will definately go back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you both very much for choosing the Mansion House Scarborough and for your lovely comments. The staff really enjoyed looking after you and we all hope to be able to welcome you back some time soon. The room you chose was one of the smaller ones so next time call us directly and discuss which room you would like. The front sea view rooms which are spacious and have spectacular views are our most popular. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A two night stay October 2012 that was thoroughly enjoyed. An extremely clean and well run hotel. The breakfasts are a cut above the average hotel breakfast with good choice and quality well prepared ingredients and efficient service. The beds are possibly the most comfortable beds that we have ever slept in whilst staying in hotels. The bathroom was clean, modern and tastefully fitted. We were impressed with two small but appreciated touches: the music gently playing in the entrance hallway and the fire on in the front room lounge even when there were no residents in there. Also a good location on the esplanade with a pleasant walk down through the South Cliff Park to the Spa or further along the seafront to the harbour area. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with an uninspiring outlook into nearby houses (No 9) but no doubt the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Address: 45, Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.