We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashburton House to your Saves list
Ashburton House
43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Homely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely homely ,comfy hotel.Stopped in room 5,bed comfy ,bedding and room immaculate.Excellent breakfast,plenty of choice.Location was excellent only 5-10 min stroll to the seafront,and 5mins to the centre.We paid £40 for 1nights bed&breakfast for two excellent value.This is the second time we have stopped and we will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    34
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
92
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

stunning room (11) and excellent service ,very clean with excellent choice for breakfast,would definately recommend this hotel and will stay there again on our next visit,Great value for money in a good location,5 minutes to the beach,shops etc,we have stayed in scarborough many times and this is by far and away the best

Room Tip: room 11 the superior room with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

what a great mini break I had last week with my new partner ! excellent room, warm, lovely food and service, good choice for breakfast could not fault it! near to beach ,shops, bar's . will stay there again ! such lovely hosts good prices, one of the best places we have ever stayed in highly recommend it! cannot believe the price! cannot wait to go back what a find! thanks Jennie B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I paid £35 for bed & breakfast at Ashburton Hotel in Scarborough and would have been pleased has it cost double, at this price unbeatable.

After a long day and long drive I arrived later than I thought, finding the place easily. There was car park out front, not massive, but I was last to arrive and still got a space.

Knock at the door and was given a warm welcome to the place, explanations given as to the where and why's of everything and told that if I needed anything else to let them know. I was given the key to a room on the ground floor which normally means a little more noise than normal, but the noise level was no issue throughout.

Enter the room (bearing in mind £35...) to a four poster bed, desk, en-suite with shower, sofa, tv etc which made it feel like a sitting room. Most places are arranged so as you watch the TV whilst lying on the bed, but you didn't need to here.

A fire effect heater was on the wall too if it got cold. Now add free internet access which was quick and reliable.

Great nights sleep on the comfy bed later and breakfast consisted of Full English (or whatever else you fancied). Very good it was too.

I have paid double this rate for a similar standard room and not felt cheated, to find a hotel like this for these rates was a real find. Shame I'm not in the area more.

Room Tip: Only saw downstairs, but I would request it if returning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our one night stay far exceeded our expectations. The owners were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The four poster bed was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was superb. Being able to park the car and walk into town was very useful. A little gem that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

my wife and I stayed on Sunday 22nd September. Fantastic value. Very clean room and en-suite. Breakfast was amazing, we didn't even want he toast we were so full! Will be booking again next time we are in North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Easy to find and very pleasant with a comfortable bed and a good shower. Breakfast choice was excellent and well presented. We only wish we could have had a couple of extra days. Parking is reasonably easy and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the sea front

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashburton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.