We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of scarborough arms

scarborough arms
1 North Terrace | ., Scarborough YO11 1HU, England
+44 1723 362883
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely evening with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We enjoyed a really lovely evening in this newly refurbished pub. Both the wine and the beer we had were excellent, as was the food, which was beautifully cooked and presented, and very good value. My wife highly recommend the generously portioned pan-fried sea bass while I was very happy munching on my sirloin steak. We plan to return, as this pub offers not only excellent food and drink, but also a friendly welcome in comfortable surroundings.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a transformation! We have been coming to the "Arms" for years & have seen many changes. We always try new eating places but were a bit dubious as this was always our local boozer/eatery. On the first occasion we just had 2 meals for £10. Just I said! It was more than sufficient for the price, well presented & delicious. We went back last night for a steak only to find it was steak night which included a dessert in the price. The steaks were perfectly cooked by Jim & Karen was very attentive ensuring everything was ok. We stood at the bar chatting for a while after our steaks having a breather before deciding which pud to have. After 15/20 mins we realised that we were truly stuffed & although the sweets sounded scrumptious we were not going to manage one on this occasion! Jim & Karen are working really hard to get the Arms fully up & running for next easter so please go & eat at this truly wonderful place. We will be returning on a regular basis.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

As Scarborough locals, we are very impressed with the new tenants at the Scarborough Arms. Jim and Karen are very friendly and welcoming. The pub has a lovely ambience and feels cozy and inviting. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. There is an extensive menu and also a 'specials board'. We chose Sea Bass and a Steak meal followed by Apple Crumble with custard and Sticky Toffee Pudding (both were really tasty). We will definitely be returning to the Scarborough Arms and recommending to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire,england
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good luck to the new owners,we ate here as a large party of 18.Food was excellent.And the beer is pretty good too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“seaside treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

went to scarborough for a family weekend stayed at the good old norbreck, just round the corner is the scarborough arms, we all usually call in for a drink or two, well this time we got a very pleasent suprise, what was the lounge has been turned into a very nice dinning area with a kind of bistro feel to it ,after a look at the menu we decided to try the food what agreat suprise, it was delicious, i tried the stake and ale pie all home made wonderfull, my wife had the salmon, and commented on how good it was, thay also offer two meals for a tenner which we tried the following day cannot praise the place enough, but dont take my word for it give it a try,you will find very polite and helpfull staff most exellent food, decent portions at the right price, and has an extra bonus great ale, back in january to sarborough so it will be another trip to the scarborough arms .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed scarborough arms also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to scarborough arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage scarborough arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.