We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and very spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Lodge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and very spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night and just wish i had booked more! On arrival space dead outside so went in and got a permit £2 for 2 days.

Hotel has a little lift so if you have alot of luggage there would be no issue. The rooms were HUGE although the decorating was a little tired. Room was a tad chilly but put the radiator up to full for half an hour and that sorted it. Bed was the comfiest ever...i could have slept all day long. Room was very clean and bathroom clean with complimentary soaps. We had a front room and over looked the road vut its a wuite side street so no noise to be herd through the night.

The owners were very friendly and offered good places in town to eat and drink abd suggested drinks and food in the hotel room with a film on the tv. The breakfast was nice a full english, tea/coffee, toast, cereal and juice.

I would definatley come again but for longer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    97
    55
    32
    45
See reviews for
41
132
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a short Easter stay -Easter Sunday to Tuesday. We arrived at 10.30am and as we could not check in until 1.30pm I asked if we could pay the £1 per day parking fee immediately so we could leave the car and go for a walk. This was fine and it was easy enough to get a parking space.
We went for walk and lunch and didn't get back until later,we had a warm welcome and was told where our room was and told about keys, breakfast times etc.
Room was clean with -twin beds and a small side room with bunkbeds for my daughters. Both rooms had a TV and small portable heaters. The girls room was a little cold but the heater soon took the chill off. Our room was very warm. The bed linen was clean but only a bath towel, could have done with a hand towel as well, but we managed OK.The bathroom had shampoo and shower gel but the water was cold, so it was a quick shower!
The bar was not open on our first night but was on the second. We did not go in the bar as we went out and didn't really spend too much time at the hotel.
Breakfast was great-orange juice, tea/coffee, cereals and then a full breakfast, toast & jam. My daughter didn't want a full breakfast but the girl serving was very nice and said she could have exactly what she wanted.
This hotel is a little dated but we loved the location -near beach but also near the town. I would recommend this hotel and for the price it offers great service. If we visited Scarborough again we would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights there from the 4th April, friendly greeting on arrival, everything pointed out to us, paid £3 for a car parking permit for 4 days and got a parking spot right outside the hotel. Bedroom a tad bit cold on arrival even though heating was on, so put oil filled radiator on and was soon warm in no time at all. Beds very clean and comfortable, bath towels superb, ( very big) . Toilet and shower room very small, hand basin in the room. Breakfast was excellent, very fast service, food hot and ample. The only negative I have is the noise created by people coming in late and not considering others. Great location for the Spa, and for town, would definately return in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

great place for overnight stay - group of people of couple (not romantic!)
our room was small but really comfy bed. Clean. extra radiator provided coz was such a cold wkend....thanks!
breakfast isnt on lkong enough on a sunday - we missed it.
buzzer broke on desk so we spent ages hanging about - hopefully they were sorting that tho.,
great location.

ideal for smewhere to stay for a cheap overnight stoppover if you arnt goign to be hours int he hotel........not a luxory place. but non the less excellent budget hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor - lift is teensy :) But was a lovely warm room - could smell the washing p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

for a cheap stay in scarborough it is ok however i booked a twin which was ok but also a amily suite the suite was very run down and dingy looking and was freezing the two nights we were there tho the twin room was warm the staff did fix the heating quickly but it was still too cold left me with a cold on leaving the bed and breakast!i would def pay more to stay in a nicer place next time the lift is tiny only takes two at a time i had to take myself and baby and buggy on it everyday nightmare not suitable or prams or wheelchair users stay elsewhere!save you the stress and hassle!

Room Tip: not suitable if you have very young kids and a pram!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is past its heyday but is exceptionally clean, the single ensuite room was a good size and the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was freshly prepared and served promptly. The mattress and pillows were reasonable but not stunning otherwise I'd have made it 5 stars. Extremely good for the little that I paid. Most places ask more for a single with a shared bathroom. Worth a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we got a double room for 1 night and the shower didn't work properly the water was tepid at best the sink had no hot water the window was cracked and did not stay open the tv was so small we had to sit about 1" away from screen loud alarm call at 7 in morning for breakfast i presume, felt like we was in the army we left at 7.30 am even though check out was at 8.30 am overall worst hotel stay ever will not recommend or stay again

Room Tip: don't visit this hotel thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayScarborough, Manager at Granville Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are unable to check the room number but all showers work, and this issue was not reported to us. As such we could not investigate.
The TV's are new flat screen with several channels, and we agree are small.
We certainly don't do alarm call early in the morning and this must have been some other guests fooling about??
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Lodge Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Granville Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Lodge is a friendly family run hotel with a variety of unique rooms to suit all tastes. All our rooms are en-suite and a selection overlook the valley with scenic views. Some rooms are suitable for wheelchair users please ask when booking. A full English breakfast is included in the price and is served in our bright and airy dining room on the lower ground floor. We have a small helpful team of staff on hand to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We cater for families and have suites available on request. We also take group bookings for birthdays, anniversaries and other special events. Our hotel is in a fabulous location, close to town centre with bustling nightlife and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.