We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Lodge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Last Minute Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Booked the hotel on arrival in Scarborough for a last minute overnighter with the family. We booked a twin room and a double room and both were extremely large. The twin was on the ground floor with an ensuite shower room, toilet and basin with an electric fan heater to keep the bathroom warm when in use although it was October this wasn't needed. Both rooms were well heated and we didn't feel at all cold. The double room was on the first floor just up one staircase from the twin room (it also had a set of bunk beds so is probably also used as a twin room). It had a large bay window with two seats looking out over Valley Road - nice to sit and have a cup of tea. It had a corner bath, toilet and basin in the ensuite which was large. The rooms and the communal areas were a bit dated but clean and tidy. Our breakfast was served with a smile and was adequate in size, 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg beans and tomotoes, with toast, tea/coffee, juice and cereal to start. We paid £30 per room which we thought was good value. Paid £2 for a parking voucher which allowed us to park for the two days that we were there. Overall an enjoyable stay for the money.

Room Tip: Request a large room as I believe some are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    55
    32
    45
See reviews for
41
131
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

£22.50, is what we paid and i think was reasonable for a last min break, the bedding was clean and the bed comfy, the gentleman was very nice and helpful but, the rest of the staff need a lessson in customer care, they were not very polite in all areas especially the dinning room, the brkfast was hot, the table cloths dirty, the staff just need some professional training.it was convienient for the spa, and they gave us a ticket for parking so we did not have to pay.

Room Tip: dont get one near the lift, it can be rather anoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed there with friends who had booked the hotel. It was cheap and this was clear in the quality of the hotel. A very quick reception, Given the keys basically. The room was small and dirty but the sheets were clean and most of the very small en-suite. The carpets were badly stained. The breakfasts were ok, but hot dog sausages and awful fried eggs, not good. Tinned beans and tomatoes and toast, great. I would not stop again.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We decided on a whim to go to Scarborough to see the band Smokie. So, it turned out did several other folk in the hotel, who also always use the hotel for stays in town.
Our room was clean and tidy, the shower was hot and our bedding was fresh and clean and smelled freshly laundered.
I have rheumatoid arthritis and yet I slept like a log as my bed was very comfortable.
We had plenty of tea and coffee.
The lift is small, but saved a long walk up the stairs. The hotel manager organised a taxi for us in the evening and we enjoyed a chat with other guests in the evening when we came back.
We had some noisy guests who came home talking at the top of their voices, but that's not the hotels fault.
I found breakfast fine, we had a choice of fruit juices and cereals, husband had a cooked breakfast and he enjoyed what he had. I just had cereal and toast, but had plenty of butter and marmalade.
I read some people's reviews and wonder if I stayed at the same place. It was basic, clean and comfortable, what you would expect for the price.

Room Tip: The lift is a bit small, so if you had prams or lots of luggage, go for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

first visit and last never again £220 for 8 adults and 2 children for one night, one room had dirty bedding on looked like poo on the valence sheet, and a mans dirty weekend stains left on the duvet cover, we went down to reception who said the bedding was clean, think they need to change there dry cleaners, they said they would change bedding came back to hotel to find the cover hadnt been changed and the owner tried to say it was bleech, and the bedding had been washed and refused to change it however, i showed her all the marks it wasnt bleech at all and the marks on the bedding was rubbing off yuck!! the bedding didnt smell clean or look it at all she then said or yeah i apoloigise and changed it after i explianed i was a cleaner in a guest house and even so if it was bleech it was very un professional leaving bedding with bleech on, on a bed, that you had to stay in with children in a room that had cost £70,bearing in mind i had asked twice for bedding to be changed however if that was not enough my nana and granda had to move in to a room with my mum and dad and share a double room with one bed as there toilet filled to the top with everybody elses toliet rubbish from the other rooms the smell was disgusting and they couldnt stay in the room, the lift was right next door my granda has a illness and could not sleep to the really loud noise of the lift up and down all night, and when the people in the rooms above flushed the chain you would think it was falling in on you, breakfast staff very un pleasant seemed as if they didnt have time of day and not a smile on there face

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayScarborough, Owner at Granville Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are sorry you didn't have a plesant time, unfortunately the maserator broke down and this caused most of the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hotel is good value for money.
Our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was ok but not great
Short walk into Scarboro centre.
The lift is tiny but as we were on the first floor we mainly used the stairs.
We have used this hotel before and at £120 for 3 nights it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was one of the strangest places I've stayed. On arrival the receptionist asked for payment in advance, told us what time breakfast was, told us to keep hold of the key as there was no night porter and disappeared back into the office without as much as a smile.
After squeezing into the smallest lift I've ever seen, the wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the room. We had paid for a superior room and although not majestic, it was certainly spacious and clean. The furniture was a bit dated but servicable, with adequate storage space. Our particular room only had a shower (no bath) which suited us but may be a drawback for others. Only two towels were supplied but more may have been available on request. We took our own so we didn't ask.
There was a hairdryer bracket but no hairdrier. There was no information in the room about the hotel facilities, the bar and restaurant opening time or anything at all. No local tourist information either.
I went down to the reception and was told that the hotel did not supply hairdriers. When I pointed out that their website said otherwise, she reluctantly gave me one. I asked her about the advertised internet access and she pointed me to a minute notice in the vestibule. When asked about local tourist informations I was told it was "winter" and they had none. (In fact it was 12th September!)
On the plus side, the super kingsize was very comfortable and we both slept well.
The bar was very poorly stocked, ran out of bacardi on the first night and it was pot luck on what they had. I have to say that what they had was cheap. i was amazed that a hotel that served evening meals did not sell wine by the bottle!
There was evening entertainment on two nights we were there. The guy on the first night was adequate (theres that word again). The second night proved very entertaining as the "singer" had to curtail his act to fix the hotel boiler. Turned out he was also the hotel service man.
Breakfast was... adequate. Fruit Juice, Cereal and a basic cooked breakfast. We only bothered 2 of the 4 days we stayed as the extra lay in was better. Suffice to say, we did not have an evening meal.
Check out was even worse than checking in. There was no one on reception at all (hence the payment on arrival, I guess). I asked a member of the cleaning staff if they could book us a cab, but she had no access to a 'phone! She did give me a card for a local taxi firm.
The sad thing aout this hotel is that with a litte effort at customer service and providing the basics that you expect even in the lowest budget hotels it could be very good, As it turned out it was just about..... adequate

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Lodge Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Granville Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Lodge is a friendly family run hotel with a variety of unique rooms to suit all tastes. All our rooms are en-suite and a selection overlook the valley with scenic views. Some rooms are suitable for wheelchair users please ask when booking. A full English breakfast is included in the price and is served in our bright and airy dining room on the lower ground floor. We have a small helpful team of staff on hand to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We cater for families and have suites available on request. We also take group bookings for birthdays, anniversaries and other special events. Our hotel is in a fabulous location, close to town centre with bustling nightlife and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.