We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was a little on the nervous side of staying here after reading some reviews, but was only for one night as took Grand daughter to the Little Mix concert in the open air theatre, so this hotel was in very easy reach of were we wanted to be. I rang the hotel to book parking space which was nicely waiting for us on arrival. Yes the hotel is a little dated in its décor, but we had the most loveliest room 494 on the forth floor which was the one with the spiral from outside, Grand daughter thought she was a princess for the weekend.. booked twin with sea view, this room was classed as executive suite on the card I was given, and must say we were not disappointed, breakfast was really very good with an excellent choice. I had no problem with this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    229
    203
    147
    220
See reviews for
133
519
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in July. Clean, but the hotel has clearly seen better days. I'm sure at its peak it would have been the place to stay, but sadly in need of a serious makeover. We were in a room on the very top floor, spacious and the beds were quite comfy, still a bit on the tatty side. However, the staff were friendly and helpful, the views of the bay were fabulous and the breakfast was quite nice.We only paid a small amount to stay here, so I suppose as the saying goes, you get what you pay for.
Lovely old building that needs lots of money spending on it to bring it up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After staying at this hotel previously (very cheaply before refurbishment) we decided on the spur of the moment to return and enjoy the good weather. Booked successfully enough, only upon arrival in Scarborough did we see a missed call and message telling us that we had been moved to a different hotel in Scarborough. Not an issue we thought and called back to verify the details - we had incidentally been sent an email notifying us of the change of hotel and told it was a '...complimentary upgrade....'. We asked the receptionist, who had sent the mail, where the hotel was and where we could park - they then gave us the incorrect post-code and told us we could park at the hotel and should ask for directions on arrival. When we finally found our 'complimentary upgrade' hotel (it was The Royal) we were told there was no parking and we should go to the NCP. All in all a very shonky service from The Clifton. They have guaranteed no further business from me in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay in a accessible room. Hotel is far from accessible, step up and then a step down into the hotel, these maybe small but are still a issue. Then we move on to the lift..... What a performance. A narrow corridor that only just fits a wheelchair down it, the lift itself you have to hold the door open and a gate open all whilst manoeuvring the wheelchair. The lift is tiny. Staff not very helpful. The other guest where extremely helpful and friendly helping where they could. The shower room had hand rails dotted around but more is needed. Getting into the shower where there is quite a big step to get into the shower, the shower isn't big enough. Breakfast was horrible, everything over cooked. Hash browns where nearly cremated. Sausages where like cardboard. Not enough disabled parking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice two day break here. No complaints room very nice, breakfast brill staff friendly, will stay again had room 15 and the weather was sunny all the time lots to do in Scarborough and its a lovely place to walk around parks seafronts castle got the lot even enjoyed a winter break here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel could be a lovely place to stay but lets itself down in so many ways. The staff are quite abrupt and dont seem like they want or should have to explain anything to you. It was our first time there and as much as we would stay again we know now that we wont be getting the service we should be. The room was clean but we couldnt open the windows as they had been painted shut and it was a really warm weekend. There wasnt enough towels either. I had to go to reception to get a hairdryer that states on the website as already being in the room. The breakfast is good and as its self service you can have as much as you like and has a good choice. The parking is a nightmare and even though i requested parking we didnt have a space and had to park on the main road although the hotel did give us a permit that covered us for the weekend at a cost of £6. We didnt know how the permits worked and the woman on reception didnt seem to want to explain to us exactly what we needed to do so we spent the weekend not knowing if we had done it right. All in all the hotel could be quite grand and if they tweaked a few things it would improve it so much. I would stay here again but it definitely needs improvement.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose to ignore the reviews even though they were mixed with some bad ones.............we stayed last week for 4 days in July (13th to 17th). We paid a very small price on a deal for wine dinner bed and breakfast so you wouldn't expect the Ritz and we said as long as clean and tidy we would be happy. Maybe we were lucky and got one of the updated rooms but we were happy with ours and it had a seaview which was a real plus. As an older hotel there will be damp even on rooms that have been updated so people should choose hotels accordingly and find a new one................

The food was surprisingly ok as we weren't expecting a lot due to the reviews, it was infact quite tasty I think if people going in later as it is a buffet style it may look a bit drier..............but again it depends how much you have paid.

The staff were friendly if you were friendly to them - maybe some people were off with them!!

I think most people who enjoy hotel stays don't write reviews hence more bad ones.................

For the money we paid we had a lovely break and would say if you want luxury you should book a higher star and more modern hotel - we had a great time and would recommend as they are good value for money.

Room Tip: Wifi in the lounge Updated rooms are probably nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queen's Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.