We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Everley Country House Cafe

The Everley Country House Cafe
Everley Hotel | Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0BT, England
+44 1723 882093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family run cafe situated in Hackness, Scarborough.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I used to visit the Everley regularly and was pleased it was opening again but unfortunately I will not be returning. Staff were pleasant and the food was OK - nothing spectacular. However, the café was cold (I sat with my coat on) and it smelt - either fusty or of cats (not sure which). The only thing in its favour is the view and being able to sit outside on a nice day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Manager at The Everley Country House Cafe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello,
We are sorry you feel this way about us. We have only been open for just over a month now, so are still in the early stages of establishing the café but are disappointed you would feel so strongly against us.
As for the smell, although we allow dogs onto the outdoor premises, we do not own nor allow cats or animals of any kind into the indoor premises so your apparent smell of cats puzzles us.
This is the first mention of any kind we have had of such an issue, so perhaps you should have mentioned this to a member of staff beforehand.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited last week. Now a tea room, not a pub. Had the plough mans lunch. Very good value for money. We loved the old everley, hope this can be as good, but on a different theme. We will pop in again next time we are passing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and warm service, great quality food and a stunning location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Everley on a sunny Saturday afternoon and chose to sit outside to admire the spectacular country views. We were served by friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. The food was of a good quality and very well presented. The Ploughman’s Platter in particular was delicious and amazing value for money. With the sun shining down and the children playing happily in the garden we could have stayed there all day! The Everley is definitely worth a visit. We will be going back lots more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely scones jam and clotted cream we will be back! beautiful veiws and good service. Good luck and hope you do well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty coffee...yummy cakes...stunning view !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Tasty coffee...yummy cakes...stunning views....and very reasonably priced. Can't fault it, look forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Everley Country House Cafe also viewed

Burniston, Scarborough
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scalby, Scarborough
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Everley Country House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Everley Country House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.