We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added North Bay Guest House to your Saves list
North Bay Guest House
137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
leeds
1 review
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Anybody who is planning on staying in the Scarborough area for either business or pleasure, this is the place to come. Very welcoming. Polite. Clean. Great breakfast. Inroom freeview. Free wifi. What more could you ask for? I'm staying here for business till the end of the year and I'm satisfied with this, and a matter of minutes walk from the sea!

Room Tip: Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
84
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The owners made our stay so great and did everything they could for us, parking sorted, rooms immaculate and the breakfast top draw, defiantly will re visit when back in Scarborough.thanks guys keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

June 30th went for cricket very welcoming from walking through the door to walking out.the place was spotless and the breakfast was good.
Had a good chat with John will stay again next time we visit e Scarborough

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here on a family break and it was without a doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in. We stayed in the family room on the top floor which was beautifully decorated, spacious and immaculately clean, and I am really particular about places we stay in. I also had a noses at some of the other rooms that were being cleaned as we left and they too looked lovely. The living area and breakfast room were decorated to the hugest standard and also spotless, I actually felt bad walking in here in my shoes! The choice of food at breakfast was brilliant and the cooked breakfast was very big and delicious. The owners were absolutely lovely, very welcoming and catered for your every need. I couldn't have wished to stay at a nicer place and will definitely be returning. I would highly recommend this B&B to other people!

Room Tip: The family room was amazing but I also peeked at some of the doubles and they looked equally as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A gorgeously presented B&B, one of the best I've stayed in. Immaculately presented rooms and service, the owners were more than happy to accommodate all our needs and requests. Beautifully decorated rooms and lovely bathroom with rather lovely power shower. Faultless service and breakfast was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic place to stay.

The only thing which would have made this experience better would be instructions on what to do in the event of a fire (which are obvious, but as we were in the attic room - a fire plan would have been useful), and possibly informed of the times of breakfast starting and finishing on arrival.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel if you're going to Scarborough, it's a cut above and beyond the rest and val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The North Bay Guest House this weekend, absolutely fantastic accommodation. The hosts were excellent, so friendly and welcoming and our family room was immaculate, decorated lovely and so clean. The choice at breakfast was great, everything from fresh fruit, yoghurts, and cereal, to the full cooked breakfast, which was gorgeous! It is definitely one of the best guest houses we have ever stopped in, and will be recommending it to all our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the north bay on 20th june. It was really lovely. We stayed in the king room and it had the most comfortable bed. It was decorated just like you would decorate your own home, everything matched and was spotless and clean. We would definately book here again and the breakfast was excellent, no pinging microwaves, all cooked fresh, and you could tell. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts they were brilliant . A beautiful place. 5 stars from us

Room Tip: Room 5 which is a king room is absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Guest House

Address: 137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by Gillian and John, this family-friendly guest house is situated in the scenic North Bay of Scarborough. It has been newly redecorated throughout, to a very high standard. The rooms enjoy a flat-screen television with incorporated freeview and DVD-playing capability, free wi-fi, and there are facilities for making tea and coffee. Every room has its own en-suite shower room, with complimentary toiletries included, and is centrally heated. Breakfast will be served in the elegant dining area on the ground floor from 8am daily, offering a freshly cooked English breakfast customized to your preferences, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot and cold beverages. There is a large flat screen television in the comfortable adjoining lounge area with free Wi-fi access. The North Bay Guest House is located within easy walking distance of many varied leisure activities - the beach and Peaseholm Park are literally at the end of the road and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. Scarborough has a bustling town centre, with modern shopping centres alongside some more eclectic and traditional specialist shops. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and public houses of all descriptions - it's not all just about fish and chips! Alongside cinemas and theatres, there are historical points of note including Scarborough Castle, St. Mary's Church and Anne Bronte’s grave, local museums and galleries. For those interested in sport, close to The North Bay Guest House are the grounds of Scarborough Cricket Club, North Cliff bowling club and Alexandra Bowls Centre (indoor and outdoor bowling catered for) and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.