We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomad Cafe - CLOSED

Nomad Cafe
10 Eastborough | Scarborough, Scarborough, England
01723-37-51-52
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, International, Vegetarian, Eclectic, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch today. The staff were very welcoming and the place had a nice atmosphere. We ordered sandwiches and panini both of which were very tasty. The hot food choices looked lovely. Everything seemed very fresh.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Umingan, Pangasinan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love the food and the friendliness of staff and customers. It's always my first choice in Scarborough for a cuppa, meal or meeting :O)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“We love Nomad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It’s very friendly, serves terrific food at reasonable prices and is close to where we live. We always go for the vegan / veggie dishes, and have never been disappointed; an omnivore friend we sometimes go with always enjoys the meaty options too. JillAnne and Owen must be two of the most widely travelled restaurateurs in the area and you can tell, from the maps laminated onto some of the tables, the ceremonial masks and art hanging on the walls, the little globes on a shelf, the destination roll from a north London bus and the distinctive, intangible aura of global awareness which well-travelled folk often project.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect on a day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This cafe is by far the bets I have been to in Yorkshire, the service was better than great, the food was absolutely lovely and very well priced, customer service was very good and overall the experience I had was better than I could have ever imagined! Definitely returning this summer. Thank you for a lovely experience on my day out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful and dealt fabulously for our rather large dining party of 21”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with friendly faces and extremely good service, bearing in mind Nomad is not doing evening openings until summer but on hearing it was my birthday at our last visit they said they would open if we required. We sure did and we were very glad to have done so. The small wonderful cafe did us proud with a fabulous choice of menu, wines and beers, the staff are very friendly along with JillAnne who is incredibly helpful and clearly proud of the cafe and rightly so. We were a varied bunch from my older parents to my teenage daughter and everyone in between from 73 to 17 there was something for everyone. Nomad has fast become our place of choice for snacks and meals and are looking forward to their evenings in summer for delicious choices and more lovely food. The Thai rolls were utterly gorgeous as was the beef goulash and the chocolate pudding was home made with a very high cocoa chocolate which was just utterly delightful. For 21 people and not a complaint or a whinge about anything its a first and we have been doing my birthday meals out for over 27 years as a large group. WELL DONE and to quote Arnie, we'll be back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomad Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Seamer, Scarborough
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.