We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotunda Museum

Rotunda Museum
2 Park Lodge | Vernon Road, Scarborough, England
01723 384511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 83 things to do in Scarborough
Attraction details
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for the second time with my two kids on the early may bank holiday Monday.

Under 18s are free and adults are £4.50 each, but my 8 year old cheekily spotted a voucher on a leaflet they had and so I got in for £3.50! we went straight to the top and spent a bit of time looking around the artefacts in the top gallery. As my children were a bit older this time they appreciated this area more. We then went down to the 1st floor and checked out the bronze age man and the plesiosaur artefacts. Again the kids found it interesting and also enjoyed the interactive touch screen where you could make up your own dinosaur scene. We then checked out the other side where it has been completely transformed since we were there last. It is now a large display of dinosaurs with fossils and bones. The last time we came it was filled with more interactive sections which the kids enjoyed better, and they were slightly disappointed that the microscope had gone too.

The last time we were there, there was a couple of activities put on for kids such as making dinosaur masks etc and although there wasn't anything like that this time as far as I'm aware they do still schedule these sort of events.

Overall this is an interesting diversion, doesn't cost a lot and although it will only take around half an hour depending on how interested your kids are its still a worthwhile stop off especially on a rainy day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Rotunda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited this small museum for the first time in several years, and I was quite surprised by the transformation. It has been totally modernised and refurbished, and it is very nice to walk around. On the first floor there is a good gallery about the area millions of years ago, when dinosaurs were alive, with fossils on display, and some good interactive displays. On the upper floor, there is a good geology gallery (again all about the local area), with other displays about local people who lived and worked in the area, who were scientists in their own small way, and who helped to establish what became England's first purpose built museum (The Rotunda) in 1828/1829. Quite good for families with children, and there is also a small but well stocked souvenier shop. There is a small admission charge, which can be combined with a visit to the art gallery a few minutes walk away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“lovely and fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Always has been a great local attraction and most local people have brought their children to it at some time or another. Not too big but doing unique work which is enlightening. In a great spot too right between the beach and town so can be fitted in easily on route! give yourself a couple of hours if you want to take time over it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very interesting if you like that sort of thing, lots to see, worth a visit especially if the weathers not good, good value too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“geologists delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This museum is housed in a fantastic building and contains the history of the surrounding area in geological format. Scarboroughs fossil dinosaur is also housed here. Best to visit in term time if you want to avoid the ankle biters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotunda Museum also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Rotunda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotunda Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.