We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why havent I been before?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe

Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe
19-25 Bar Street, Scarborough YO11 2HT, England (Formerly Boddy's Cafe)
+44 1723 353754
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Boddy's Cafe in the heart of Scarborough on Bar Street in the pedestrian area. The cafe has been open since 1984 but the Boddy Family have been catering since 1962 just celebrating 50 years in the business.Boddys uses only local suppliers for all there food and everything bar bread and teacakes are made on the premises which we think is quite rare these days.We pride ourselves on our fast efficient and friendly service.Why not come and sample some of our home made food and cakes all served in great surroundings.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Why havent I been before?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Only popped in here because the cafe just accross had stopped serving snacks. My daughter had just finished work and was on her break. Only ordered a tea and my friend a coffee. My daughter had a toasted bacon sandwich and chocolate cake and ice cream. Never been in this cafe we tend to go to Eat me which is superb but not in town centre. However we wish we hadnt eaten already cos we sure would have liked to sample the menu and the cakes (we love cakes looked fabulous).
The cafe was clean and warm and very nicely decorated and the staff were very friendly the lady behind the counter explaining what all the cakes were. We will defenentely be back wont bother with the cafe accross the way Boddys is much nicer lol. I cant believe we havent tried here before. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here for lunch with my sister whilst on holiday in Scarborough. Had the quiche with a salad trim was absolutely lovely salad not the usual of bit of lettuce and tomato it had raddish beetroot and cooked rice as well The home made mushroom quiche was to die for a tub of home made mayo to dress the salad to boot! Lots of scrummy looking cakes- we did not endulge but I bet they were fab A little gem in Scarborough lovely atmosphere and friendly staff deffo worth a visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food at an affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Met by friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. The food is beautifuly presented and very tasty. I love their homemade mayo, the best ever. We have been many times and never been disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another fine break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this establishment a couple of times now.once for coffee only,which is the best way to get a feel for somewhere before you commit for a meal.and then for toastie.service is always prompt as you order and pay at the counter then your order is brought to you afterwards.there appears to be a £10 min transaction on card payment but for two coffees and a scone this was waved.there is a lively mix of customers...young families...singles senior people.beware of sitting either end of the shop near to the doors as the populace of scarborough seem unacustomed to shutting doors behind them.the food is tasty and well presented and findung seats always seems a task at weekends.note the toilets are downstairs and the stairwell located tight in the far cirner if the middle room and the loos themselves rather small so not very good for those less mobile

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have made numerous visits to Boddy's, and have never had a bad experience. Its off the main pedestrian precinct along Bar Street. It provides cakes, light bites and full meals. We have so far gone for the cakes and light bites. The quiche being a particular favourite. Food is well prepared, presented and of good quality. Prices are average for this type of above average cafe. Its clean and well staffed, so waiting for service is never a problem. It just seems to be a cut above the other Scarborough Cafe's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.