We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality pub - grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Inn Restaurant

The Falcon Inn Restaurant
Whitby Road | Cloughton, Scarborough, Scarborough YO13 0DY, England
+44 1723 870717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: English, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good quality pub - grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

No reservation - no problem. Table found straight away and efficient ordering from standard menu with a few specials. Service good quality and food matched. One to go back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“falcon fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the second we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble, after our earlier upsetting experience at the richard the third our spirits were finally lifted and then some at the FALCON INN. the proprietor and her staff could not have made us more welcome, the food was excellent quality and very flavoursome, i had the cajun chicken with lemon mayonnaise and the summer fruit pudding - a taste sensation i will remember for a long time. i really had a lovely time and we are already planning a possible return, thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“lovely evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went on the last evening of our holidays and had a lovely meal here the staff were lovely and couldnt do enough to attend to you. We went two years ago and found the place very snotty and we walked out but I definetly would go there again well done

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are in Scarborough or Whitby make the trip to the Falcon Inn. We arrived at about 2.20 and they were supposed to stop hot meals at 2 but without hesitation served us anyway. Really appreciated this. Exemplary service, fantastic food and a beautiful setting. Quite the most fabulous new toilet block which was built earlier this year. Doesn't sound significant but go and see (but make sure you eat there too!). Thankyou for a wonderful meal. Memorable x

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull,england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this place is rubbish!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we booked our stay,we asked if they could provide a veggie breakfast,the receptionist told me that she was a veggie and it was "no problem"!!

When we booked in for our stay,i reminded the same receptionist of our veggie request,and was told they would"try and get some veggie sausages"

Surely it would be better to get them in advance after your guest had asked for them?

Our room was ok,but did not have a decent size mirror,which made it awkwood for my partner getting dressed as we booked our stay to got to a wedding in a nearby hotel.

Our breakfast the next day,was stone cold when it arrived,and comprised of one veggie sausage,a dried up fried egg,a spoonfull of beans a tomato and a few mushrooms.
The coffee was also awful,as was the service.

Just to round off our stay,a member of pub staff tried to come into our room without Knocking!!

When my partner complained about our stay,she was told by the receptionist "HAVE A NICE DAY"

And all this for £90 a night,this confirms why I go abroad for my holidays!!

twice the service at half the price!!

cheers john harrison

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Falcon Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.