We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fur coat and no draws!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
stockport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fur coat and no draws!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I booked a night dinner, bed and breakfast at this hotel for myself and my husband. The room was average, clean and comfortable but no frills. In the corridor on which we stayed there was a number of the same print on the wall. So there were six identical prints decorating the walls. The hotel was paranoid about novo virus and had instructions for guests on what to do if they felt unwell and incongruously there were several alcohol solution sites for hand sanitation around the hotel, more like a hospital setting than an hotel!
Food? Was served self service style from hot plates in the dining room, fairly basic fayre, gammon steak, fish, chicken being the staples. But breakfast was a nightmare! There was a queue from the dining room up the stairs to the next floor and back down to restraunt level. Very ordinaire, usual fry up supported by toast and cereals. My husband summed it up as being akin to being on a very low budget cruise, school dinners would have been elevating the commensuals way beyond their quality and value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    730
    711
    533
    1,287
See reviews for
644
1,695
85
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We booked a last minute night away at this hotel. When we arrived we were given the key to a room in the gods. The ceiling sloped so badly, you wouldn't get out of bed without smacking your head. The windows were filthy, the hotel literature had bogeys on it! We asked for another room. We encountered the reception staff, who couldn't give a damn. they couldn't have been less helpful. We were given a room in a basement with no window. It smelt damp the moment we got out the lift. We took the stairs, only to find they were under construction!
Breakfast was from a dirty table. We asked for a window table, and were completely ignored. The coffee was the worst instant I have ever tasted. The dull, food was served from shabby buffet tables.
I had found a norovirus advice sheet in the bedroom, and wondered about the anti bacterial dispensers in the hallways, more of a care home than a hotel! I work in public health and couldn't face the breakfast! We went to Wetherspoons! Yuck!!! I will never stay in a Britannia hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just got back from a three night break, couldn't fault it had a really relaxing few days, bedroom nice, clean and comfortable, staff very good and helpful, food good entertainment was canny won the bingo when there so that was a bonus would recommend for a cheap and cheerfull short break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Our 2 night stay at The Grand Hotel, Scarborough, on 3rd and 4th June, was our first and last visit. Apart from the wonderful building and the initial welcome from reception staff The Grand Hotel is one of the worst hotels that my wife and I have ever stayed in. There was absolutely no management or supervision in the hotel and whilst the staff were generally friendly most had not been trained and, with few exceptions, were totally demotivated.

A member of the bar staff didn’t know what house wine was available. Another said it wasn’t his job to remove old notices when special offer drink hours changed on our second day. We couldn’t open a tab to which to charge drinks for later payment. At meals in the Harbour Lights restaurant the most experienced members of staff (apparently) spent their time checking guests’ room cards rather than supervising staff. The result was chaos.

The food in the hot and stuffy restaurant was appalling, the breakfasts being probably the worst I have ever experienced. The self-servery table was not replenished regularly enough with food or crockery and, when crockery was delivered, it was warm which was fine for soup or the main course but not for the cold starters or desserts, or in fact, cold fruit in the mornings. Breaded fried fish was available on our first night but there were no chips to go with it when we were in the restaurant at 7.00pm. Dry boiled and croquette potatoes were not appropriate substitutes. On our second morning we aborted a very long queue for breakfast in the Harbour Lights restaurant at 8.50 am and successfully tried again at 9.35am.

There was no “service” in the Harbour Lights restaurant. Staff were running around clearing tables and texting on their mobile phones. Coffee after “dinner” was not available in the restaurant but was available in the Empress Bar. However no seats were available in the bar or lounge areas and, instead, my wife and I went for a drink around the corner to The Royal Hotel which is now on the shortlist for our next visit to Scarborough. Much better!

Before sampling the food at The Grand we had originally decided to eat at the hotel on the lunchtime of 4th June. Not surprisingly we chose to go to The Lord Rosebury, a Wetherspoons pub in the town with a good range of real ales (there were none at The Grand) and we had a better meal than we had at The Grand Hotel.

Our room was small and rather shabby. It didn’t have a sea view but we had expected a double bed room rather than a ¾ bed room. A working extractor fan was needed in our shower room but the shower itself was good. In the morning the cleaners folded up the damp towels and shower mat that we had left hanging up (we had not needed them to be changed) resulting in damp towels when we returned later that day.

Without doubt The Grand Hotel is one of the worst hotels we have stayed in, and served the worst food. We shall not stay there again and we do not recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Found this hotel was lacking in all aspects, room, beds and bedding need updating, staff uninterested and unhelpful, food was terrible, in fact we booked 2 nights breakfast and evening meals, we ate out the next day. Spoke to some guests and they said it had improved alot in the last 3 years. The only possitive was the location. We won't be going back. Worst hotel we've stay in

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire lass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

This was our first visit to Scarborough and after reading some 'bad' reviews we were apprehensive to say the least, we needent have worried. We arrived at the hotel to be met by a friendly receptionist who explained where the room and restaurant were. What a fantastic room we had. We had a sea view as I had requested on the booking form, but not only that, we also had a twin jacuzzi bath, and a set of scales to keep an eye on our weight! The breakfast was a good choice of hot and cold foods- cereals/ full english/ jam and toast/yogurts/ fruit, the young men in the restaurant kept the tables clean and again sea views to enjoy whist eating. The evening entertainment was fun- bingo and a small cabaret in the quaint cabaret ballroom. We will certainly come to the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Arrived to a very unhelpful receptionist, didnt even look up when i spoke to her.
Got to room, not cleaned from previous guest. Filthy bedlinen, filthy carpet, filthy windows, no phone, broken tv, no heating, thick dirt and dust on the windowsills. What looked like rat droppings on the floor. ( have taken samples for testing !!)
Where is the manager? and what kind of manager lets his staff be so rude to guests? When we asked a cleaner if she would clean our room we were told by her 'no!!' and when we said it was still dirty she just said ' WHATEVER!!'
Only stayed at the hotel as everywhere else seemed to be fully booked, and as a pensioner I could not just leave without having anywhere else to go.
What this hotel needs I think is new trained staff for reception, housekeeping staff and a lot more of them. Then teach them all to smile :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.