We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"...so what do you want for your money?"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Living in the Real World!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"...so what do you want for your money?"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

As a young lad in the 1960's staying in a boarding house near to the castle, I would dream of being able to afford a stay in a 'proper posh hotel'; and The Grand was always the poshest in Scarborough! My wife and I stayed the weekend, Saturday/Sunday night. There is no real parking facility, so I parked in the multi-storey (locked overnight) for £6.00 and just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel refurb was almost completed; the room was clean and of an adequate size and the newly fitted bathroom - with spa bath - was just fine. No view to speak of and the fan was a bit noisy, but for two nights you could put up with that. The two lifts are woefully inadequate (we stayed on the 6th floor) as they are used by cleaning staff and guests, but reflect the era when the hotel was built. Public rooms were OK (don't like the shade of blue on the lobby walls!) and the furniture in the bar lounge is a bit tatty and doesn't match the decor any more. The dance band that played on Saturday night were very good, as was the singer.
Meal times were a bit of a raffle - queue for a table at breakfast on Sunday, not what one might expect. The evening meals where not to a very good standard - vegetables cooked to a pulp- if the tin opener had broken we would probably have starved! However, decent house wine at £7.75 a bottle - not to be sniffed at - well maybe just one sniff before tasting! The staff were lovely! They were friendly and helpful, from reception to waiters, maintenance to cleaners alike. I didn't hear any complaints from other guests, who all seemed intent on enjoying their stay and the weather was cheerfully sunny for October!
Would I recommend the hotel? Well, yes if you avoided eating in!
I paid £126 for a double room for two nights, half board, en suite, a veritable bargain...and I got to realise my dream as a young lad by staying at The Grand Hotel!
You can't put a price on that...so what do you want for your money?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    810
    804
    594
    1,410
See reviews for
718
1,912
91
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

All 4 of our pre-booked rooms were DUNGEONS! no windows in any of the rooms, which had been dug into the cliff face. No natural light or ventilation meant, they were damp and foisty. A complaint to reception, meant we had to join the LONG queue of people with the same complaint. When we did speak to someone, about changing rooms,they just said "we are fully booked tonight". Asked for a refund, refused, as the rooms had been "prepaid". In restaurant and pubs we later visited, when asked where we were stopping and replied "THE GRAND" the replies we got from locals was " Are you in the dungeons?"
The hotel is the talk of the town for it's lack of living up to it's name.
THE GRAND HOTEL, more like THE PITTS. DON'T DO IT!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick Lancashire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The only thing Grand was the view
Reception staff more interested in talking to each other than dealing with waiiting clients
Lounge furniture sad and worn needs replacing .Incessant sixties music on a short repeating loop from dawn to dusk very intrusive.
My single room (Beware The A suffix) was better described as a byju broom cupboard.
Food Breakfast just passable Evening Meal just dreadful
Our group of 30 plus had booked a Gala Dinner in the smaller Premier dining room with silver service to commence at 2000 hours we were kept hanging about until 2100 hours
and placed at one end of the empty main dining room No atmosphere possible
Vegetables served 20 minutes before the the main course arrived thus cold
Staff were asked several times to take it away and reheat it -they either did not understand or were unwilling to provide a normally expected customer service.
What our guests thought must have reflected badly on our organisation
Staff attitudes varied from not interested to brusque and almost rude.
Entertainment was from a group of obviously bored dancers with fixed smiles
fronted by a male singer? who would not have passed the audition for our
local amateur society. Long waits at the bar (single manned) at the most busy times
I shall never ever use this hotel again nor will our group and I will activley dissuade
anyone who I speak to!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

OMG what a place it was just awful right from the begining. They don't have adequate parking. The staff are just not interested about who stays in their hotel.They give out wrong information and don't communicate with their collegues.
We had a family room or so we thought, the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom!!!!! The room decor was dirty,dated and had no character not even a picture on the wall. The bathroom had holes in the wall and you could see daylight through the shower controls( we thought it was a light at first). We knew when our neighbours were taking a shower/bath coz the water came through the bathroom ceiling intothe light fittings.
Breakfast was appauling non of the staff knew what they should be doing the food was what you would get in a transport cabin by the roadside. Not very nice.
We recommend the Palm Court Hotel just across the way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedworth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We thought the hotel lived up to it's name. It was grand. It is a very old, not modern hotel, but has loads of character, the architecture, and staircase were fabulous. We booked a three night stay using Tesco vouchers, then read tripadvisor reviews, obviously we thought we had made a grave mistake. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the third floor, with a sea view. We may have been allocated a family room, as there was a double and single bed. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and shower over. The shower curtain, towels and all bedding were pristine white, and carpet clean. The bedroom furniture was not top of the range, but not tatty and everything matched. The food was lovely, I do not eat meat, and when I informed them, they told me what the vegetarian option was. All of the staff were very helpful. The entertainment was varied throughout the evening, so hopefully suited all, depending on what your individual taste was. (I have come across very few hotels that offer nightly entertainment at all!).
The lifts were not adequate for a hotel that size, however, we like many others used the stairs, leaving the lifts for the less able, elderly and downright lazy! We needed to use up some calories from all the food. It was worth the exercise just to be able to sweep down the stairs into the foyer. Also the windows did need cleaning. We did a tour of Scotland last year and this hotel was on a par with any of them, and much better than a few. If you want modern, go somewhere else, but we both (aged 51 and 52) loved it, and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

myself and my daughter and grand children have just spent a fabulous weekend at the grand Hotel... I read a few bad reviews before we went and went with an open mind... but no worry's this fantastic hotel, had plenty to offer, clean and spacious rooms, good food and very friendly staff,nothing was too much troubel. the views from the hotel are stunning, and you would have no trouble if you get lost, as the grand seems to be on view everywhere you go.
The history of the hotel is very entertaining too.
will definatly be going again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed as we were running the Scarborough 10k, and I assumed that The Grand would be a decent hotel. Although the exterior of the hotel is impressive, the inside does not live up to it. Generally looks like it needs refubishing, with decent carpeting in the foyer area and elsewhere, but bizarre pastel blue and pink paint on the walls that makes it look like an ice-cream parlour. Receptionist was very friendly.

Lifts not very good, and we were advised by other guests that they regularly break down. Considering that the majority of guests seem to be elderly and, in many cases, infirm, this does not seem good.

The room my wife and I had (5th floor) was just about OK - basically decorated and furnished. Bed was very uncomfortable due to springs in the mattress and bathroom looked like something in a bedsit. However, it was only when we saw the room my mother and sister were staying in, on the second floor, that we realised how lucky we were. Theirs was apalling, with depressing lighting, peeling paintwork, terrible carpet, horrible furniture and a general feeling of dilapidation - it felt like something out of a Dickens novel. I immediately felt that this should not be used for paying customers and expressed my concerns to the manager, who organised a change of room and a £15 refund (room cost £70 including breakfast). New room was OK.

Breakfast was reasonable and staff polite, and some of the other staff were great.

All told, I do not feel that the hotel should be open until it is refurbished (which is apparently going on), and to charge £70 per room is very unreasonable. The rooms don't even have telephones! It was a dispiriting experience and not one I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: | St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline, this former Butlins Hotel is an ideal Hotel in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.