We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to go back to it's glory days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Save Saved
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs to go back to it's glory days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I still think The Grand has a 'wow' factor about it. Regardless of needing to be revamped, the building itself is very impressive.

I was staying in a city single room and it was fit for purpose. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Felt like I was in a disco when I turned on the light for the toilet, but it was fine.

Breakfast was ok - nothing special, but if you like a fry-up - it's good. There is cereal, fruit and toast as alternatives. I wanted to sit by the window as the view of the beach was lovely. Only issue with that is they *really* need to clean the windows.

So yes - the chain need to sort this hotel out. It really could be a flagship hotel for them if they dedicated some real funds for getting it done up. But overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. There are currently a number of refurbishment projects due to commence over the coming year within the hotel, which will rectify a number of areas.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    649
    619
    465
    1,118
See reviews for
553
1497
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well we were placed in this hotel at the last minute and after reviewing it on here it left us extremely concerned. We decided to see for ourselves so turned up. We had been promised an upgrade. One room was upgraded the other wasn't. However without any quibbling they upgraded both. One brownie point scored. The room was massive with a lovely sea view. The beds were spotless however the curtains were hanging off the rail and the carpet could have done with a shampoo! The bathroom was clean but the windows could have done with a clean. Winning and losing points. The food was basic, but red hot and tasty. The drinks were cheap and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Not the Ritz and probably won't go back. Cheap and a fair base to stay if you want to visit North Yorkshire on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! Or at least a window, we heard several guests complain they were in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very tired hotel with bed springs coming through matress, water stains on ceilings, single wardrobes for double rooms etc etc. Hotel staff very unhelpful and unfriendly maybe its a case of not enough staff or just too much trouble. Also its like a self service canteen in the restaurant unless you upgrade and are allowed to use "posh" restaurant although not much better. You got the previous night's roast as a starter the following night. A lot of elderly guests when we were there and they just left them to get on with it - find their rooms and also try to take up their own luggage - will not be back.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill1608
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed there for my husband s birthday completely ruined. we stayed in a room 3011 avoid at all costs was above what i could discribed as a bin shed. the smell of rotten food in our room, eve in the corridor, the entertainment was no existant. i complained and dint even get appology. this hotel just takes your money and run. its daylight robbery. i am taking my complaint further. dont know how they can still get away with this there are so many complaints about this hotel that for nothing to be done is a disgrace. really are just taking peoples money and not delivering the goods as promised and when you complain nothing is done about it. i am taking my complaint to the tv i work hard for my money and a special birthday was completely ruined! watch this space will be back with emails you recieve from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbys
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When I first arrived i had booked a standard room,big mistake! It was a underground room with no windows and it smelt of cooking food,a stained sheet and to my horror fresh blood on them too!
So I decided to upgrade for an extra £10 per head,on entry to the room it smelt like an ashtray,shabby furniture,grotty carpets. Then I saw the information about the recent nova virus breakout,not quite the welcome I had wanted. However the room has a beautiful view overlooking the sea. Cleaning was not the top,priority in this hotel there was a pint glass with about 20 fag ends in it yuk!
Food was poor,apple crumble must have been made from cement ,drinks not hot enough,shabby tables and chairs and I don't think the floor had been cleaned for at least a month,I could go on and on! This hotel should not be called the grand

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Quite the most awful hotel. The room was disgraceful and the food in the 'school canteen' incredibly bad, I feel sorry for the staff. Very disappointed as I expected a lot more from the offer. Should pay more attention to the customer and not to the footfall potential. Quite how anyone would want to make a return visit - a tent would be preferabe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel 13 sept 2013 having queued to get booked in we where given a room on the -1 floor which is the first floor in the basement no windows and down where the kitchens are £195 we paid for 3 nights the breakfast was terrible think they just wanted you out so they could set the tables for lunch very very dated
Entertainment was ok but not brilliant
needs some money thrown at it Britannia hotels bring it upto date
our room no was 1008 television can't get it to come on
would never go again

Room Tip: rooms on -1-2-3 floors in the basement no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.