We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEFINITELY NOT GRAND!!! MADE WORSE BY STUPID PROCEDURES” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Surrey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY NOT GRAND!!! MADE WORSE BY STUPID PROCEDURES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It actually is a shame as this could be a great hotel. Room was acceptable but only because we insisted on Seaview room, sadly the windows were so filthy outside the view was limited!!! Bed comfortable and clean towels every day but floor needed hovering and in shower lowest 3 levels of tiles were black with grime and scaling. Food was acceptable for the money and personally I approve of the serve yourself system, HOWEVER the worst and frankly disgraceful thing concerns the Restaurant procedures, apparently until last week there were large Water containers at the Self Service counters but as of Mon 8th these were removed and you had to go to the bar where very small glasses of water were dispensed by the barman, I asked for 2 large and was told NO you may only have these for Manager then insisted on taking off them, the man explained that his wife needed water before and after her meal for tablets but he would not relent and then couple, almost in tears had to rejoin the queue to get some water, many complaints were made about this situation and the answer given was it was a Health and Safety procedure, HOWEVER the original water containers were very evident in the mornings with Orange or Fruit Juice as were large jugs of water so apparently safe to use in the morning. Later we discovered Senior Mangement had instructed the removal of the water containers at night so that people would buy Wine!!!! THIS IS DISGUSTING BRITTANIA HOTELS - YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED - As a footnote you might like to know our party of 4 refused to buy wine on principal for the remainder of our stay and would not stay in a Brittania Hotel again.
Just to finish I would say 90% of the staff were helpful and pleasant but greatly embarrassed by the poor management rules, the remaining10% being defensive and down right rude in making excuses for these rules, obviously in fear for the jobs!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately there are many rooms that are totally unacceptable, some without windows in the baseme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.

I would like to apologise to you regarding the level of cleanliness with your bedroom, this is extremely important to us and a review is currently taking place in relation areas you have highlighted.

In relation to the water jugs within the restaurant these were removed due to Health & Safety reasons, I am unsure where the comments have come from that as a company we wished to make profit from removing this, we have since relooked at this area and all our restaurant team can now serve drinks to your table during your dinning experience, we apologise for the miscommunication with this area.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    729
    709
    533
    1,286
See reviews for
643
1,693
83
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

In here at the moment. Me and my partner 2 nights hb. Get here early for parking. We arrived 12july 10am. Parked easy outside hotel. After 11 no chance you will have to pay £8 for ncp. Booked double room. Given a what I can only describe as a glorified walk in wardrobe. Roof slants between about 8ft down to about 4ft. Im 6ft so could only walk around half of room. Paper hanging off wall. Hole in bedding. Shower only hidden behind door. If you want to use wardrobe cant open door. On top floor. Went down to complain but could overhear resident's complaining and being told fully booked no rooms at all. Evening meal first night not worth the £ 7pp gammon or stew or I think supposed to be fish, peas and sweetcorn and roast potatoes. Soup and salad. I tried coleslaw and spat it out. Breakfast mediocre and edible. Hope to tonigtlhts meal is better. Get in early for breakfast a d dinner though, as its like feeding pidgeons. Beautiful views from hotel. Entertainment seemed good as we walked passed few times. Drinks offers on. If I was to sum it up. Its a lottery on what room you get. Nice location and building lots of potential. Food just ok. Won't stay here again unless you an guarantee what room ya in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.

Due to the location of the hotel and when the hotel was built we have no car parking, we do sell car parking permits for £3 for a number of pay and display bays within the local area next to the hotel.

I would like to apologise to you regarding the maintenance areas you have highlighted these are now being rectified.

Due to the Victorian age of the building our rooms vary, in shape, size and design, as you were located on the 6th Floor and we do have a number of different designed rooms on that floor.

In relation to your dinning experience this feedback has been passed to the Restaurant and Kitchen team to reveiw.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we booked the grand for a short break and after we read the reviews and then thought ok we have messed up big time ,but when we arrived we where signed in after about 15 mins given our key and directed to our room. the room was small but just the right size for 2 guests when we looked around the room it was very clean white sheets and duvet and comfy the only thing that kept us awake were the bloody floodlights and the bloody seagulls chatting to each other till 1pm when the floodlights went off only to be woken up at 4am by the bloody seagulls again up for breakfast not amused food was ok ,the old saying you get what you pay for comes to mind but for 99 pound for 2 guests for 2 nights is very good that and the fact we met many new friends made it a good stay ,just a pity the weather wasnt all that sunny ,wouldwe go again yes 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I'm so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

so ok not the best hotel in town. if you don't mind standing in a line for a long time for breakfast not bad food. room on -2 very small but nice bathroom with bath and shower over bath. some staff very good some need some training but at the price I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I'm so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

In relation to the level of customer service received from some team members this will be addressed as we pride our self on our customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went with open minds after reading reviews but where shocked by how true the remarks are.
I went to the room while my husband parked and I had to phone him to tell him not to take his shoes of, the carpet was filthy and marked, we had a window which would not open, the paint was peeling of the damp BLACK walls.
The staff were worse than useless and rude.
We had breakfast on the first morning and it was dreadful, how do you make bacon tasteless ?
We didn't attempt the evening meal and ate out, meeting other guests that had paid for there meal but refused to eat there.
We felt more like prisoners than guests.
The only up side to this hotel is that it could be made Grand again, lots of money time and care would work wonders.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience, our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay.

If you would to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact any of my team.

Your feedback in relation to the dinning experience has been passed to our Restaurant & Kitchen Team.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a trip I took with National Holidays and am afraid I would not recommend the hotel. It is unfortunately not Grand any longer (certianly would have been in its day). The check in desk was a joke, too small and not managed. The staff were miserable, just handed they key over without even saying where the room was, where the lifts/stiars were etc. The room was a twin room and was tiny, bedding clean which was a bonus I suppose. The carpet was so thread bare I though it was original from being built in the 1800s ! Window would not stay open. Tea tray dirty. Food awful. Dining chairs and tables felt dirty. Reception area sofas left bits of red "leather" stuck to our clothing. For the price of the normal room rate you get what you pay for really but I would not like to stay for more than 1 night and would hate to think I was stuck in the room. Would certainly advise the management take a look at their customer service approach with their staff, could do with a bit of training on reception which is the front line.

Room Tip: The view was lovely as it was a sea view room, although window small (5th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.

Due to the Victorian age of the hotel some areas may seem small, however our team are highly trained in customer service and I am sorry this is not the treatment you received; a full review has taken place with retraining.

In relation to the bedroom maintenance feedback we are currently investigating this and will take appropriate action.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've ever been in and only lasted an hour then left. Went into room floor was wet through, no window in the room, tv didn't work only 3 channels as well. Noises from bathroom as if toilet was broken the room smelled horrible. The worst part was to come ... there was a notice in the room that stated that there was a virus in the hotel and that if we experienced any diorrhia and sickness could not leave the room for 48 hours and had to contact a member of staff. We decided after 10 minutes this was horrific and not safe to stay !!!!! Told staff we would like to leave and was disgusted in the room the staff member told another staff member but saw her smirking about our complaint. Staff very rude and questioned us about the carpet being wet ! We were supposed stay for 2 nights and stayed for an hour only got one nights money back when we should have got both nights money back but could not bare to stay any longer ! Never going there again ruined our weekend and was disgusted

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.

Due to the Victorian age of the building our rooms vary, in shape, size and design, the room which was booked was one of our value rooms, which are the newest rooms in the hotel, all our value rooms have air cooling within them.

In relation to the Information leaflet regarding Noro-Virus this is there for guests information and to ensure all guests are fully aware of the Virus, this Virus is very common in large hotels, cruise ships & hospitals. We are very pleased to confirm there has been no out brakes in the hotel due to our new approach to educating customers and increased levels of sanitizer around the hotel.

I am very sorry you left the hotel and did not enjoy your initial experience.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.