We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Should start by saying i only paid £50 for 2 nights b & b, which was excellent value. Was allocated a room below ground level which was comfortable but window might as well as not been fitted with draft coming through it.Heating was constant which compensated for this,the room was also in need of a good cleaning and tv channels were terrible quality for this day and age, Breakfast was nice and the staff who we encountered were pleasant.The whole place could do with revamping really but an enjoyable weekend was add.

Room Tip: Try to avoid basement rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    730
    711
    533
    1,287
See reviews for
644
1,695
85
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked a 1 night stay on the 19th January. When I arrived I was told I had cancelled my booking. The surname was the same, was a shame they didn't check the first name when they cancelled the booking. Told to come back in an hour and they would see if they had a room for me. Went back and queued for half hour at reception. They found me a room told it was a double but when we got there it was a twin. I had already paid in advance for the room but asked to pay again. I didn't pay again but found that by Monday they had taken payment out of my account again. It took several phone calls before I was reimbursed. I was never once given an apology for the mix up and was made to feel as if it was all my mistake. Given a room on the 6th floor, found it a bit of a pain as the lift only went to the 5th floor you then had to get out and look for the lift to the 6th floor. I agree with the other reviews about the smell of smoke in some areas. The room was clean enough, although windows could do with a clean, that goes for the dining room too. Food was edible.
The main reason I would never stay here again is the attitude of the reception staff, they are certainly not welcoming and helpful, bar staff are the same, what happened to service with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Whilst having a pleasant holiday in Scarborough, I was disappointed with some aspects of this hotel. The entrance lounge and cabaret ballroom were in good state of decor and I can't fault them. However, the dining room was in a disgusting state, obviously having serious problems with damp. The ceilings were black in many areas and not nice to see when dining. Foodwise, the breakfasts were very nice but the evening meals were not to a very good standard and had little or no imagination and were in fact quite tasteless. Considering I had 4 evening meals only, twice we were served with turkey (rolled) and twice had spotted dick for pudding. There were other options (gateaux etc) but am sure other hot puddings could have been served. (The custard was very watery).
My bedroom which was quite small (and had to pay a £20 single supplement) was not too bad, but again the ceiling was black in places. On the plus side I had a jacuzzi bath in my en-suite which I had the pleasure of using. What I want to know is why single people are penalised with these supplements (if I had a double or twin room to myself I could understand it)
The evening entertainment was really good but left too long after the bingo waiting for it to start. As expected, drink prices were high , paying £2 for a glass of diet coke.
The holiday itself was most enjoyable with trips to Whitby and York.

Room Tip: If you want a single room with jacuzzi bath request room 216. This room was also quiet which suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had always wanted to stay in this hotel, as a child visiting Scarborough I was always in awe of this very grand edifice....We were with a coach party and didn't upgrade the room....It was on a lower floor beneath the Harbour Lights restaurant. We were lucky to have a window and a sea view...a couple of people we spoke to didn't have a window which would have been unacceptable. The views of the ocean are a big attraction.
There were a lot of older people in the hotel and quite a few had quite severe health problems. The lifts only take three people, so if you can't manage stairs you will have to queue at busy times....on the coach trip you also have to carry your own luggage from the coach and to your room. There is a ramp entryway for people who can't manage the steps at the entrance, and because of the large number of infirm guests, I'm sure you can ask for a room with easy access otherwise they wouldn't have managed, We had several flights of stairs to climb each day but I didn't like the lift so got pretty fit ! The meals are on a 'sitting' basis...you are given a time if you are in a large party....we had a late breakfast and an early tea...that's something to think about when you fill in your special requirements. The food was a buffet and there was plenty of choice...the cheese and biscuits were to die for :) Breakfast was the same every day, so that got a bit boring. If you wanted something more intimate there is a small restaurant and you book at reception for that at an extra cost. There are some beautiful rooms, so you can upgrade. We thought of a self drive break, but parking is limited around the hotel and has to be paid for. There was bingo and entertainment each evening and a 'happy hour' from 2.30pm to 5.30pm....house wine, beer and spirits. Food in the bar looked good, large portions and cheap. You can also have tea or coffee at a reasonable price.
The room was plain, bedding clean, towels sparkled. Towels were changed daily. You get what you pay for....this was a very cheap break....the hotel was full and will hopefully survive this recession. Scarborough itself had plenty going on...hilly if you went down to the beach, but manageable

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ( room with a window ) be sure to ask. If you aren't good with stairs mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have never reported / commented about a hotel in my life before.But on this occasion i feel as though i have to post my comments. On average throughout the year i reside in hotel room about 85 nights per year. Some better than others. But to say the least the worst hotel prior to my visit to the GRAND HOTEL never even came close to the poor standards to the GRAND. Before i even set foot in the hotel i was greeted to the stale smell of tobacco smoke in the foyer and this stale smell carried into the reception area. Once setting foot into the reception area i was greeted by a foul / vile smell of (urine) as you would be if you had wandered into a old folks home. It took over 10 mins to check into the establishment (they blamed the computer system) after this mammoth task i was handed my room key. As i made my way to the elevator i noticed the large amount of mobility scooters parked up around the reception area. This confirmed it, i was in an old folks home (urine / scooters). As entering the lift i noticed one of those hospital hand wash dispensers ( it should have been a body wash dispenser) as i felt unclean.When i arrived at my room I had to check to see if the bed had been made correctly. It had. But the duvet was about 1/2'' thick and the matters wasn't much thicker. I couldn't wait to get out of the place. Thank god i didn't have a breakfast. This will be 1st and last visit to the Grand hotel. I think it should be up for a rename. Please feel free to post your comments. Kevin

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay in this hotel,and i use the term hotel loosely on a buisness trip
first impressions are gained on the entrance steps dodging my wat through the 20 or so smokers blocking the way in..i thought this was illegal?..the entrance porch is after all part of the hotel
2 girls were on check in,but only one was actually attempting to attend to the ever growing queue
As i was waiting to be served i was overcome by the smell of the place which could only be likened to a bad nursing home...made me feel quite sick
on my way to the 6th floor in the lift i noticed everything within that lift was grubby,dirty and smelly
the room itself was not smelly but it was very grubby and unclean with furniture i would not send to a jumble sale
the bathroom itself was quite good and modern with lots of hot water and a good shower
the cleanliness however was very poor
the management should resign and the cleaners should be sent for training..if there are any!
i have given this hotel no rating and thats too good...the victorians who owned it must be turning in their graves seeing such a magnificent building be brought to this level
I cant comment on the food as i wouldnt dare eat there
the only advice i can give is dont go there....at any price!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Grand from 7th to 11th January. We paid £99.95 for 4 nights Dinner, Bed & Breakfast plus Entertainment and two Coach Trips.
Hotel faded elegance. 'Shabby shic' not dirty. First Bedroom had windows taped closed with Gaffer Tape! We were moved two a small but clean & comfortable room on 5th floor with Sea view and Bubble Bath/ Shower.Plus TV and Complimentary Tea & Coffee.
The one room that is in immediate need of major renovation is the Dining Room with damp and mould on the ceiling coming from the Terrace immediately above it.
The food was of good quality and plenty of it. But there was poor organisation in timing intermittently for the evening buffet given the large number of visitors.
The Entertainement was excellent with two singers, two dancers and a guest singer on one night.
The two coach trips were to Bridlington & Filey and to York. We drove ourselves there by choice. Others were taken by coach for the same money.
Car parking was on the street for £3.00 per day - a special scheme for those staying in the local hotels.
The Hotel was built in 1860s you'd expect some creaking floor boards but there was no noise from neighbouring rooms . It was one of the quietest hotels we've stayed in.
All of this for just £99.95 per person how do they do it? I hope that the hotel will get the upgrading it needs - its an iconic Scarborough landmark.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors not the terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.