We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what we paid.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for what we paid.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to Scarborough for the weekend for a friends birthday and we only booked the grand on the way up to scarborough on the day. We booked 2 rooms, one for 3people and the other for 2. Both were £45 each, lovely.

After reading the reviews I was dreading going inside but the reception room is very glamorous. There was no queue at reception but was still about a 5min wait before being seen by someone. The double room was in -1 and the 3bed room was on the 3rd floor.

On the way to -1, well you have to go past the kitchen and there were cages of flat cardboard in there just left in the corridor. Seeing this me and my partner were wondering what's in store at our room. We were surprised. Yes the furnishing needs updating but it was spacious, both the bedroom and the bathroom. We even had a jacuzzi bath which was lovely.

The 3 guys in the other room had a similar room with an amazing view too. We had no complaints the whole time we were there. Checkout was easy too.

It seems if you book through yourself and not with these other companies you get a better experience. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    730
    711
    533
    1,287
See reviews for
644
1,695
85
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked a new year break with National holidays at the grand hotel and was very disappointed.National holidays were brilliant,John the driver and a lady from national holidays who met us at hotel.
Not one person we spoke to had anything good to say about their stay and to be honest the more mature guests just wanted to get home because the heating went down and they were freezing.
The staff were very rude,apart from the man on the door of the restaurant who showed you to your table who was very friendly and did a good job because everything was hectic.We had to clear a table in bar and ask for cloth to wipe table on more than one occasion because there weren't enough staff.One of the bar staff told us that they didn't expect to be so busy.!!
The food was very bland and if you wanted a hot drink at beakfast you had to use flasks and most of the time the water was luke warm.
I could go on and on but i feel that i have made my point.I will not be visiting this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for a New Year Break At This Hotel Shouldn't Have Bothered,Hotel Tired And Dated Staff Rude no Service What so ever,Rooms dated with very little wardrobe or drawer space not even bedside cabinets asked for one but was told haven't got any this isn,t what i expected in a Hotel named The Grand
Had to queue to get in restaurant for evening meal and then queue again for about 10/15mins before reached the food station not very good for new year would have thought they would of had waiter service,food not very good, all in all it was like being back at school dinners..
Dining Room/restaurant had mould on ceiling and on parts of the walls and at one point water was dripping down onto guests not that any of the staff were bothered they just shrugged shoulders and walked away.
New Years Eve was a non starter for many guests as there were no seats in cabaret rooms or bars from early on which meant a lot of guests were just walking about most of the night or stood looking down on things from the first floor walkway The Hotel should not have so many people staying if they cannot be accommadated
I could go on and on but i,ll just finish by saying This Is The Worst Hotel I Have Ever Stayed in,would never ever go back
This Hotel Is Grand By Name But Certainly Not By Nature

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just escaped from the Grand Hotel at Scarborough. We read some reviews and hoped they were untrue. Unfortunately they were too kind to that hotel. When we arrived the complaints queue at reception was staggering. Rooms for our party were varied from very small to generous in size and furniture. However we spoke to several guests who told us they were in rooms lower down in the hotel with no windows that were reminiscent to a nuclear bunker. We were lucky we had a window. Our bathroom was small but adequate apart from the fact that if you leaned too far back on toilet you finished up with a bidet. Dinner was a revelation with long queues stretching down to the dinning room. Some elderly guests had to fight hard to balance on the stairs. Zimmer frames and walking sticks balanced on steep steps provided the entertainment whilst waiting putting bets on who was likely to fall first. The food was the same each night soup, salad starter, cold fish in a warm sauce, meat and hard veg, sweets or cheese and biscuits. All by the way self service. Breakfast was in same dinning room with flasks of hot water to make coffee and tea. Very low key. We bought a teapot to make a decent drink at breakfast. Entertainment was hard to get to with no room for the vast numbers of guests to watch. On New Years Eve we were treat to an egocentric D J and his music system alongside guest singers with faulty sound equipment. Remember that most guests were 60 plus and unable to appreciate the boom, boom music offered. This D J actually refused to turn his music off at 12 to allow the Scottish piper to pipe in the New Year. Instead we were treat to the drone of the D J ' s singing. Were'nt we lucky? The next day the heating in the hotel failed and it was so cold. Two of our party took part in a Competions and won a weekend at the Grand. They refused to accept prize. The next day we left The ( not so ) Grand Hotel. As the coach pulled away there was a loud cheer, we had escaped. What a shame that such a magnificent building , this hotel, is being used in this way. Poor management, lack of staff and a general negative attitude to guests will be the downfall of this hotel, or should be!

Room Tip: Don't go! If you do by chance have to stay the night make sure it isn't one of those nuclear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were really dissappointed with our new year package at this hotel. Big parking problem as there is only public meter parking available. Checking in was chaotic. We found the staff generally to be unhelpful. Having found our room we were chilling when another couple walked in. They were also booked into our room and had the same keycard and key as us. No apology from manager. Also this hotel caters for doggy people. Dogs in lifts, walking though general areas, barking whilst relaxing in foyer in evening. Apparently they can be accomodated in any room. So be warned if you don't like sharing with dogs. Scarborough must be the doggy capital of the world. They were everywhere. On the beach, promenade, all round the fish and chip shop where we nearly stopped but were put off. Biggest beef is that there are too many residents for all to gather in the cabaret room for the new year entertainment and celebrations. Many others were complaining about this hotel. The lift to our floor which was at a lower level has a capacity for only 3 people. It is a slow lift and caused chaos when most people were trying to leave at the same time after breakfast on last day.
Never again at this hotel. Brittania really need to sort it out

Room Tip: Our room and our friends room were ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took a break in Scarborough at the badly named Grand Hotel, in December.
Got a good deal but unfortunately the only time I have ever been in a hotel room with no windows, and the smallest double bed ever!
We were on floor -3 and probably underground, it was very claustrophic and if a fire broke out you would be doomed!
Avoid deals at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Went with National Holidays. The room was adequate I was on the third floor. Shortage of hot water for a shower unless you had one mid afternoon. The dining room was like a works canteen. Buffet service -breakfast was good but at dinner staff very slow in topping up the empty dishes. I was allocated a later sitting therefore less choice of anything.I stayed for the New Year package - people had paid three different prices for exact package £99, £189 + £259. My dinner allocated time was 7.30 therefore there were no vacant seats in either ballroom as people on the earlier sitting had taken them all. New years eve was a let down as I had to sit in a lounge all night with no entertainment, not even any background music. All I saw was a piper who came into the lounge for a few minutes. Haggis and champagne was supposed to be served in the foyer but I am told wasn't served till 12.45am by which time i had retired. The hotel does not cater for the number of residents, lift and toilet facilities on the ground floor are poor. The best entertainment for me was watching the traffic warden booking the cars who kept parking in the loading bay outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.