We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ox Pasture Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ox Pasture Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Lady Edith's Drive, Scarborough YO12 5TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the end of April for my wife’s 60th birthday and had a lovely time. The staff are very friendly with nothing being too much trouble and they really try to make your stay enjoyable as possible.
The hotel has a great rural location with only a short drive to Scarborough, and the rest of the east coast, Whitby, and Robin hoods bay etc. not too far away. What makes this hotel special is the good quality locally sourced food being served and the courtyard restaurant complimenting the whole experience.
We stayed here last September and I am sure we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    118
    56
    47
    45
See reviews for
150
401
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, friendly staff , would recommend to friends this is our second stay, loved the first room we stayed in, but did not like the second room, due to size only, found the rooms very clean, will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a great treat for my birthday. Lovely setting and very friendly staff. As has been mentioned before the staff were really lovely and dealt with everything with a smile and were happy to share a joke with us. This shouldn't be such a surprise in the hospitality industry but as anyone who travels in this country knows it is by no means the norm! The suite we stayed in was part of a lovely courtyard conversion and really was stunning. Perfect for a family with older kids. This hotel also really is dog friendly as well. (Many claim they are but clearly tolerate rather than welcome dogs) Great location and setting for Scarborough and the Moors. Very hard to fault it. Book - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed with my wife on the 19th. From the minute we arrived everyone was realy helpful and pleasant . The room we stayed in was lovely. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. My wife cant eat gluten and after mentioning this to lynsey she spoke to the chef who prepared a gluten free meal that included a specially made gluten free cheese cake.just doesn't get any better. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I would like to thank the staff for looking after me and my wife on our stay, everyone was helpful the rooms- bar - restaurant were immaculate and staff were very friendly. I also noticed the hotel is dog friendly and with the surrounding grounds it would be ideal for dog owners,

Well worth a visit !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Attended a cousin's evening wedding reception in the function room adjacent to the main hotel. The main room was well appointed, the staff very polite, and the facilities were very clean. A perfectly enjoyable night, with only one (unsurprising) negative comment - the bar prices.
This isn't unique to Ox Pasture Hall. I continue to be staggered by the premium applied by most hotels to their drinks tariffs. Just because you are often a 'captive audience' in a hotel doesn't mean that your hosts should fleece you without a second thought.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first experience of the Hotel and we have no complaints. It made a nice change to go somewhere and be looked after by all the staff who were very attentive to our needs. The room was very spacious and clean. We extended our stay to three nights to also enjoy the local area. The food was very good and plentiful I did have the same desert three times it was so good. We will definately use again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ox Pasture Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ox Pasture Hall Hotel

Address: Lady Edith's Drive, Scarborough YO12 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ox Pasture Hall is a luxury 4 star country house hotel, located near Scarborough, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. This wonderful country house hotel is widely regarded as the best of all the Scarborough and Yorkshire coast hotels and is consistently rated as one of the best hotels in Yorkshire. Ox Pasture Hall Country House Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the North York Moors, the many attractions in Scarborough & Whitby, the Yorkshire Coast and the historical sights in North Yorkshire. Having established a great reputation for excellence and reliability, you will find our consistent high standards, friendly service and surroundings, epitomises the benefits of a small independent luxury hotel.Choose from a selection of bedrooms, ranging from our classic double, deluxe bedrooms and luxury suites, all designed to give you a relaxing and enjoyable stay.With exceptional food on offer, Ox Pasture Hall Country House Hotel is perfect for a short break, holiday or romantic and relaxing weekend.Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ox Pasture Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox Pasture Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.