We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ox Pasture Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ox Pasture Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Lady Edith's Drive, Scarborough YO12 5TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lincoln
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVELY DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose this beautiful hotel because we were able to take our dog. we had a lovely weekend and would definitely like to return. The staff were so pleased to have our little doggie stay with them and that made such a difference, we were slightly nervous about taking our pet but had no need to worry as she was made to feel very welcome. The hotel is set in such gorgeous surroundings and our room in the courtyard overlooked the yorkshire countryside. The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom, comfortable bed, two leather arm chairs, drawers space and a built in wardrobe. We were very lucky with the weather for our weekend although it turned cold in the evenings, but our room was very warm and cosy. We were allowed to have our dog with us everywhere except the main dining room, we eat breakfast and dinner in the small bar area. The food was excellent with the emphasis on fine dining, we would just like to say that we would maybe have liked a more casual menu for the bar area, but that is not a criticism just our preference. We have definitely told all our friends about our experience at this lovely hotel and hopefully we will go back soon.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are great if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    133
    60
    50
    48
See reviews for
159
472
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Situated just outside Scarborough (10 minutes) with great views over the countryside this is a hotel I shall return to whenever I'm in the area. The main rooms are situated around a central courtyard and are well appointed, comfortable and peaceful. The small staff group are helpful and efficient. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I can hardly recognise it from some of the reviews here. As a business traveller I do stay in a lot of hotels and this one is a gem.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor courtyard rooms, they are larger and some have nice views over the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took my parents for lunch here when it first opened, and the food is just as bad today as it was all those years ago. We shouldn't be ungrateful as we were guests at a wedding, but the food was a mass of white mush - white fish, white chicken and revolting lumpy white risotto. Prior to the ceremony, the barman was positively rude when we tried to buy a second drink at the bar, and he even grabbed one guest's nearly full whisky off him when clearing away the glasses. After the speeches and meal, a group of us decided to sit quietly in one of the hotel lounges so that we could chat, and at precisely 10.45pm, a member of staff told us in no uncertain terms that we had to return to the function room. Even though we pointed out that the bar didn't actually close until 11pm, he stood there and waited until we'd moved back to the room where the wedding reception was being held. So, the positives are that this hotel is set in a beautiful location, is very attractive inside, and has a great outdoor suntrap at the rear where the wedding was held. But on the downside, it serves awful food and employs rude staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked a stay here with our 10 year old, it looked like a nice peaceful location and had some good reviews. We were meant to stay at the hotel for two nights but left after the first as the bed provided for our daughter was horrendous; hard, uneven and uncomfortable. Our daughter (and subsequently we) got very little sleep and were exhausted the next morning. The lack of sleep was not helped by the unexplained ringing of the telephone in our room three times from 4.30am onwards!!! The bathroom was cramped but clean overall, bedding clean but room seemed quite grubby and could do with a little more than a cursory dust. Also, our view from the window onto building works was not especially nice.
Reception often unmanned and generally a lack of waiting staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ox Pasture Hall for the night of Friday the 29th March having found the hotel while searching for 'N.Yorkshire country hotels'. We have previously stayed at Swinton Park for similar breaks and we're hoping for more of the same. This sadly was not to be. Our disappointment began almost immediately with the cigarette buts lining the walkway up to the entrance, the tired and unkept garden (I know its the end of winter but a little bit of a tidy-up is badly needed) followed by a deserted check-in desk topped with a tray of 4 empty wine glasses. I managed to track down someone in the main dining room who then proceeded to book us in with barely a word spoken, certainly no greeting or 'Welcome to Ox Pasture'. We were directed to our room (me carrying our luggage as no offer was made to assist with this). The room itself was small and a bit dwarfed by the four poster bed with a view across to the roof of the neighbouring wedding venue. In the bathroom we found a shaving mirror hanging periously off the wall, a very narrow bath and an extractor fan making such a racket I had to plug it's edges with cotton wool to try and reduce the noise (hope nobody was planning a relaxing bath in there). There was no water in the room or glasses but that was shortly remedied by a staff member who arrived bearing a plastic 2l bottle of Tesco home brand water (but no glasses, just plastic airplane cups from the bathroom). A this point we realised we couldn't be further away from Swinton Park (same price for the night by the way). On the plus side dinner was good so thank heavens for that. The next morning our breakfast took nearly an hour as a single waiter tried to serve a full dining room of people. Toast arrived 20 mins before the hot food but by then we'd had enough. At checkout time I once again had to track down somebody to assist me (having already carted our luggage out to the car myself). This time the checkout desk was adorned with the previous day's half eaten wedding cake and table flower arrangements. On my way out I noticed a half empty pond filled with the remmants of summers water plants rotting away. Perhaps if we had a dog and were staying simply to sleep after a days walking then this hotel would have suited us better. As it was there is much work to do here to justify any 4 star rating and I hope for the sake of the hotel that we experienced an 'off day' and not the norm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have Just spent a long wkend with my wife at Ox Pasture Hall and I hope I don't offend anyone at the hotel ..., The food in the restaurant / bar, was to die for , the attention to detail and quality could not be underestimated, we ate in the restaurant every evening of our stay, not wishing to be disappointed else where..!! We give value for money was 20 out of 10 ,, all the staff we met were very friendly , always , both interested in there customers and their needs during their stay . Dare I say the only minus ,, The rooms , not the best.. as no sound proofing was evident and the room was not the cleanest, yet the setting and layout was spot on . With only a few minor minus points to sort this hotel, it then could be fantastic !!! We would definitely return..!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and I stayed at Ox Pasture as we were planning to tour the east cost with our dog (springer spaniel.) We found the hotel by searching on the net and were not let down. The hotel is extremely accommodating to dogs and with brisk walks in a forest trail opposite the hotel it is in an excellent position. During our stay we visited Robin Hood Bay, Whitby and Flamborough all which I would recommend. The food in the hotel is of good quality although my suggestion would be choices on the bar menu as much of the food is aiming itself at a refined pallete, this is of course great in the evening however for lunch fish and chips would be perfect. Anyway the rooms are of a good size and contrary to other reports the building work can hardly be noticed. All in all a good place to stay for pet lovers and those wanting a central location to base themselves.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ox Pasture Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ox Pasture Hall Hotel

Address: Lady Edith's Drive, Scarborough YO12 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ox Pasture Hall is a luxury 4 star country house hotel, located near Scarborough, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. This wonderful country house hotel is widely regarded as the best of all the Scarborough and Yorkshire coast hotels and is consistently rated as one of the best hotels in Yorkshire. Ox Pasture Hall Country House Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the North York Moors, the many attractions in Scarborough & Whitby, the Yorkshire Coast and the historical sights in North Yorkshire. Having established a great reputation for excellence and reliability, you will find our consistent high standards, friendly service and surroundings, epitomises the benefits of a small independent luxury hotel.Choose from a selection of bedrooms, ranging from our classic double, deluxe bedrooms and luxury suites, all designed to give you a relaxing and enjoyable stay.With exceptional food on offer, Ox Pasture Hall Country House Hotel is perfect for a short break, holiday or romantic and relaxing weekend.Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ox Pasture Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox Pasture Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.