We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expectations of a boutique hotel were marred” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beiderbecke's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beiderbecke's Hotel to your Saves list
Beiderbecke's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly The Regency Central Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“expectations of a boutique hotel were marred”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Beiderbecke is a clean, friendly hotel with lots of beautiful original features. The price doesn't really match what you get. The decor is average, the furniture and furnishings aren't plush and unsuccessfully try to mimic elegance. Breakfast was mediocre, cheap sausages, sugar in wrappers, tinned mushrooms fried, some items running out. Having said that if your expectations are that of a guest house then yes its nice, I was expecting a boutique hotel and it wasn't. I think it could be missing a trick in exploiting the beautiful building.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
108
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is in a very good location, being close to both town and beach and also has some good restaurants close by. (Try 'George Michael' Greek restaurant - owner miserable but best Greek food we've ever had!). All the staff at Beiderbecke's however were first rate - very professional and friendly. Room was very comfortable and clean and breakfast was very good. The only downside to our stay was the bar was closed all Saturday afternoon and evening for a wedding reception and we had already made plans to meet up there for drinks with friends. The staff offered to serve us drinks, but only in the restaurant bar, which for us was too formal. However, would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Central location, staff lovely. Stayed 4 nights in a suite, £140 per night, very overpriced. Room large, tired decor, crying out for a dvd player and flat screen tv....but had video and antiquated tv which made strange noises on ITV and couldn't get BBC2?! Food in restaurant took an hour to come both in evening and a couple of mornings at breakfast. Had to hassle staff about this, bar expensive but ther is plenty of choice of lively bars nearby in the town. Wouldn't recommend eating in the hotel due to bad service. Overall not a great experience so wouldn't pay to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

we arrived at the hotel mid morning and asked the receptionist if we could leave our car for the day whilst we went into the town , to our amazement we were told that our room was ready to check into , we were allocated room 218 which was excellent , the decor was very traditional but the room was very large and spotlessly clean , we booked a package which included a bottle of proscetto , 3 course meal from the taste of yorkshire menu and breakfast , the restaurant was fantastic , we were celebrating our anniversay and the atmosphere was everything that we wanted and expected , food fantastic , bottle of wine very reasonable and not rushed at all, hotel staff excellent ,.we will certainly return .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here for one night in May. The hotel staff were very welcoming and throughout our stay the service was excellent. We booked one of the suites which was very spacious although the decor was very 1980s. There were all the things you might need and extras like dressing gowns and slipper for both of us which was nice. Marmalade's restaurant was very, very good and it seemed as though this had been decorated and updated at the expense of the rest of the hotel. We had dinner which we really enjoyed. There were two menus, a Taste of Yorkshire one and an a la carte one. We ate from both. The food was cooked well although I found the portion sizes much to large for me. Breakfast was also good with self service cereals, fruits and juices but waitress/waiter service for the cooked part.
There is a car park which as other reviewers have stated is small and also quite tricky to get into if you have a big car.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Room extraordinarily good. Fantastic views. Very comfortable bed. Food excellent. Decor immaculate and interesting. This is definitely a hotel for jazz enthusiasts (we're not but still enjoyed it immensely).
The hotel is very near all amenities, shopping centre a few yards, railway station nearby, theatre nearby, pleasant walk to the seafront. Has a small car park which seemed very rare in Scarborough.
Very quiet location, not overlooked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Just returned from 2 night break. Husband had booked a suite on first floor over looking the crescent, as birthday treat and it was absolutely lovely. Really spacious with huge windows letting the sun in and very nicely furnished, with little extras such a bathrobes and slippers. Staff all extremely friendly and the girls on reception were very helpful. Excellent breakfast in nice surroundings. All in all, the prefect relaxing break. We will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beiderbecke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beiderbecke's Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly The Regency Central Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beiderbecke's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beiderbeckes Hotel is a small and friendly hotel in Scarborough Town centre, situated on a beautiful Regency Crescent, just 2 minutes walk from the train station and the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. Why not come and stay in one of our beautiful suites with a balcony and sea views, or join us for some of our top quality, homemade Yorkshire food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Beiderbecke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beiderbeckes Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beiderbecke's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.