We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, food bland...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miaz - CLOSED

Miaz
94-100 St Thomas Street, Scarborough YO11 1DU, England
01723 360844
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Recently opened new restaurant
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor service, food bland...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Even though it was a Saturday, the place was not full by any means. We had to ask if there was a problem as several tables were being served, despite following us in. The food was bland and uninspiring... I will not return in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average food poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thought we would try this as a few positive reviews on trip advisor. The restaurant was very busy and I think everyone came in together so as you can imagine they just couldn't cope. We waited a long time for our meal about 50 minutes, people who came in at the same time as us ate, and paid before our meal arrived. We were in no rush but people who arrived after us were served about 20 minutes before us. Then when our food came 2 of our party of 4 were served cold food which had to go back. So we didn't even get to eat together. The food was tasty but for the first time in years I could not leave a tip for such poor service. I really think this was poor management they did not have the staff or kitchen capacity to serve good quality hot food to the influx of people the seated within a very short space of time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this new Indian Restaurant twice . First night excellent. Second night we turned up after walking out of Tuscany Ristorante earlier in disgust, and went straight to Miaz as we knew we wouldn't be disappointed. Food is fantastic! Whilst they have a standard Indian menu, the chef specials are unusual and tasty. Be beware..... Huge portions, good quality meats and fish. House wine good too. Service second to none, and the whole place is immaculate! I would recommend this place to anyone, and can't wait to go back, litho ugh I won't order as much food! Ps prices very fair!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“VERY POOR FOOD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

on a weekend trip to scarborough with friends. went to miaz on friday night, restaurant itself very nice but the waiter we had was a bit unfriendly to say the least . lager he brought was lifeless and went flat very quick.Beware of chicken puree,, which is chicken chaat, it was half prawn,, if you are allergic to prawn ,, like me, then it is not for you, other starters ok, main course, i had south indian garlic, which was tasteless, no garlic of any kind,really very bland, all 4 of us found their food tasteless, what is the point of having nice crockery if food poor, most off the maincourse was left, a big disappointment, we just paid our bill and left , not even a goodbye.
Just have to say as we found, not impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After going to see The Happy Monday we decided to go for an Indian, and this was the first one we came to we got the set menu the one that starts at 10: o clock we did have to ask for it and I do think they were a bit reluctant that we did not order off the normal menu and I can see why, it is excellent value for money we had loads and we left without us having dessert which was also included in the price It was one of the nicest Indians I have had in along time (apart from when I was in Goa), and would go again when in Scarborough

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miaz also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.