We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Surf-Sation!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dexters Surf Shop

Dexters Surf Shop
Unit 5 Kepwick House | Peasholm Gap, North Bay, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
+44 (0) 1723 377 565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Activities in Scarborough
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn how to surf and have surfing lessons at Dexters Surf School, an ASI accredited surf school, located at Scarborough North Yorkshire. Operating from Scarborough's North Bay, Dexter's Surf Shop, School & Hire Centre provides surf lessons, surf hire, hardware, accessories and clothing to surfers and beach goers across Scarborough and UK. Opened in 2011 the surf shop has 30 combined years of experience in the surfing craft. Lessons are provided by highly qualified ASI accredited instructors holding surf rescue and first aid qualifications. Dexters Surf School offers group and private surfing lessons, beginner to intermediate surfing certificate courses, surfing awareness, for kids, adults, parties, girls only, hens and stags groups, kids parties, youth groups, kids summer camps and corporates. We can accommodate for larger groups for school groups, stag / hen parties, birthday parties and corporate events! The surf shop stocks a wide range of hardware and clothing. Both shelf surfboards and custom boards are available so you can be sure to get the right gear to suit your surfing style and ability. Our location for learning to surf in Scarborough takes some beating. North Bay, one of the 2 cleanest beaches in Yorkshire, is a beautiful relaxing beach with plenty of parking and refreshments, and our iconic seaside chalets. It is also recognised as one of the safest beaches in the area, being lifeguarded May-September by RNLI beach lifeguards. We are the closest surf school to the beach for surf lessons all year round, and also we are the biggest surf school in the area to have a base right on the beach offering you secure storage, changing facilities and Hot showers.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great "Surf-Sation!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time with the family - everything great from reservation to the goodbye ! Organised, equipment good, felt safe and reassured in a rough sea. Even press ups in the north sea was good fun ! Will definitely go again !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

dexters staff are a pleasure to deal with friendly helpful and best of all very good at what they do and are very knowledgable about all aspects of beach activities and watersports

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“plenty of activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

although this says surf shop do not be fooled as the also offer kayaks, lessons and as me and my partner opted for the bike hire

very helpful and friendly gent on the tills helped us when we inquired on the Saturday about bikes for the tuesday and he told us he would have them ready and when we came back tuesday he sure had

after the payment and the usual security via my debit card as you should expect he took us out to the bikes and helmets provided and gave us some great insights as to where to go

on the specialized bkes and they were set up perfectly before we headed off and took a nice cruise around scarborough up to the cliffs and back down through the town lauren (my partner) did not want to stop just keep going

at £15 each for 4 hours on the bikes this is a steal and a great way to see more than you would on foot,

great service and will definitely be going back again whenever we are there
can not recommend enough :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surfs up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting waves cafe next door and ended up walking into dexters for a look round.
Great selection of clothes. Helpful member of staff who had a lovely head of hair!
Will be back to hire a kayak or attempt to surf!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We hired two fabulous paddleboards from Dexters last Thursday on a beautiful calm day in the north bay in Scarborough .The staff at Dexters were kind and helpful especially Dan and Driek The service we received was first class and we will definitely be visiting again, and recommending all our friends! An added bonus is the fab variety of clothing ,gifts and surfy knick knacks available inthe shop, a beach babes dream shopping experience ! All in all this surf shop is first class

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexters Surf Shop also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Dexters Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexters Surf Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.