We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plenty of activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dexters Surf Shop

Dexters Surf Shop
Unit 5 Kepwick House | Peasholm Gap, North Bay, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
+44 (0) 1723 377 565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 activities in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dexter's Surf Shop Surf School & Hire Centre, Scarborough is a fantastic base for exploring the area, with all kinds of fun activities for family and friends, We have it all! Surf Hire, SUP Hire, Kayak Hire, Cycle Hire & Deck Chairs not to mention our fantastic Surf School! There is plenty to do for all ages. Dexter's Surf School is home to one of the most comprehensive surf schools on the East Coast situated right on Scarborough's North Bay 20ft from the beach. Our fully insured Surf School and fully accredited ASI Surf Coach are happy to teach one on one right up to large groups, we can accommodate most requests and all are welcome Schools, Stag / Hen Parties, Birthday parties and Corporate Events. Hiring and lessons has never been so easy, Just bring a towel and we'll do the rest! We'll even photograph it for you!
Peterborough, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“plenty of activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

although this says surf shop do not be fooled as the also offer kayaks, lessons and as me and my partner opted for the bike hire

very helpful and friendly gent on the tills helped us when we inquired on the Saturday about bikes for the tuesday and he told us he would have them ready and when we came back tuesday he sure had

after the payment and the usual security via my debit card as you should expect he took us out to the bikes and helmets provided and gave us some great insights as to where to go

on the specialized bkes and they were set up perfectly before we headed off and took a nice cruise around scarborough up to the cliffs and back down through the town lauren (my partner) did not want to stop just keep going

at £15 each for 4 hours on the bikes this is a steal and a great way to see more than you would on foot,

great service and will definitely be going back again whenever we are there
can not recommend enough :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Surfs up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting waves cafe next door and ended up walking into dexters for a look round.
Great selection of clothes. Helpful member of staff who had a lovely head of hair!
Will be back to hire a kayak or attempt to surf!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We hired two fabulous paddleboards from Dexters last Thursday on a beautiful calm day in the north bay in Scarborough .The staff at Dexters were kind and helpful especially Dan and Driek The service we received was first class and we will definitely be visiting again, and recommending all our friends! An added bonus is the fab variety of clothing ,gifts and surfy knick knacks available inthe shop, a beach babes dream shopping experience ! All in all this surf shop is first class

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Life's a Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great shop staffed by lovely people who really want you to enjoy what North Bay has to offer. We spent a few days in Scarborough this summer and were very well looked after with hire boards, and canoes of various types and then we bought two expoy surfboards on a great deal as the surf had popped up and my boys were keen to try. Damn me, they could do it after a couple of hours of trying (I think it's their lower centre of gravity ... or guts ... or skill .... - OK so I wasn't that good!) Prices at the shop are good and the support you will get form the team is second to none I know. 5 Stars. See you again soon, Chris, William and George.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Try something old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I live in Scarborough so the sea is nothing new but this was the first time ive been on it under my own steam. Danny gave us a fair deal on a kayak and wet suits for the day and even let us switch to a surfboard in the afternoon. A good set up quite easy going and very welcoming. Made our break complete and filled lots of time for my daughter and me. Cheers to all at dexters. Nigel and liv.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexters Surf Shop also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Dexters Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexters Surf Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dexters Surf Shop to your Saves list