We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarborough Fair Collection

The Scarborough Fair Collection
Flower of May Holiday Park | Lebberston Cliff, Scarborough YO11 3NU, England
01723 586698
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 attractions in Scarborough
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Scarborough Fair Collection hosts a magnificent working collection of Vintage Cars, Steam Engines, Vintage Fairground Rides and Mechanical Organs topped off with a 'Mighty' Wurlitzer Organ in our spacious ballroom. We host tea dances every Wednesday afternoon and Wurlitzer Concerts every Thursday afternoon.Our unique venue is also available for private hire and wedding receptions.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend and I weren't sure what to expect from this museum, but there was more here than we were expecting and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

It's £6 to get in, but that includes a ride on one of the restored fairground attractions so is good value. We really enjoyed riding on the carousel!

It was fairly quiet when we visited and so we were able to go round and hear each restored organ playing in turn. The organs are very impressive and have been restored to a very high standard.

There is also a collection of vintage cars which are again in great condition. There are other attractions including:

• Model of a fairground
• Hall of mirrors
• Action Man orchestra!
• Old fairground stalls
• A restored fairground caravan

There is a café, but we didn't have any refreshments so I can't comment on their quality. There is also a small gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Glad you had a nice time. The rides run at 20 min intervals throughout the day so if you are here for an hour you will have had chance to go on all the big rides. We also have small children's rides running when requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wow, what a day. They had to throw us out when it closed at 4pm!

We loved the fairground organs, the carousels and the other exhibits, but the highlight was the Wurlitzer which was played with great enthusiasm by Mike Lester on the Thursday afternoon on the day we visited. Sadly this has now finished for the season, but we understand that the Wurlitzer is still played on Wednesday afternoons and on Saturdays. Coupled with a good and excellent-value tea room, this made for a great day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A magical walk down memory lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went on a rainy day and only expected to stay for an hour, 3 1/2 hours later we were still wondering round. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We took our 5 month old daughter and they offered to run a small carousel ride just for her which we thought was a wonderful gesture. The food was very good and value for money. We were able to listen to all the organs and go on all the rides. A thoroughly good morning!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Everyday is different some hectic with coach parties and school trips and some slower and more relaxed. I'm glad you were able to linger a while and enjoy the music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the scarborough fair collection it was very entertaining, you get one free ride included in your admission charge the rest you pay for , the carousel or galloping horses have always been my favourite they had even got a horse with my name on, they also have a selection of Wurlitzer organs which are played simaltanously, and for those people who remember the film the Iron Maiden well you can see the Iron maiden traction engine here there is also a bar where you can buy food ands drinks It is well worth £7.00, £6 for senior citizens

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca r, Public Relations Manager at The Scarborough Fair Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting but Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I did think it was a bit expensive for what it is but if you are going for the tea dance then it is worth it.

The ride surprised us but that's because of how fast it went, we went on 'Noah's Ark'

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scarborough Fair Collection also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Scarborough Fair Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarborough Fair Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Scarborough Fair Collection to your Saves list