We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Hubbard's

Mother Hubbard's
43A Westborough, Scarborough, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were visiting Scarborough with my mother and after seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor we went for lunch. I would probably have walked past and not taken much notice if I hadn't read the reviews beforehand. The restaurant itself is upstairs and the entrance is not very big or particularly inviting. Re-decoration was in the process of being done but you wouldn't have noticed - it was still business as usual. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Lovely fresh fish and chips with bread and butter and a pot of tea together with very reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went for the first time today and enjoyed Haddock and chips, I read other reviews and I also noticed it was filled with old people:) very good service if not a little rushed but a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Mother Hubbards for years, every time we visit Scarborough in fact, & it's always great. This time however, was really disappointing. A long wait before our order was taken, despite the restaurant being quiet. When the food came, the batter wasn't crispy & the chips were truly disgusting; Luke warm & swimming in grease. We complained (something we never do, so it must have been bad!) and the manageress was bordering on argumentative, telling us that the potato shortage meant that the poor quality was unavoidable. She did deduct the price of one meal from the bill, but made us feel like we were in the wrong for complaining. And the nice chips we had the following day from a chippy on the sea front proved that it is possible to fry them properly, even during a potato shortage! I'm afraid we'll be giving Mother Hubbards a miss in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were really looking forward to a meal at Mother Hubbards as it had such good reviews but overall found it very dissapointing. The fish was beatifully cooked but the chips were so soggy, greasey and very unappetising - surely not freshly cooked.
Quite a nice restaurant but annoying music playing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, Northumberland, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went with a day trip and if we had not been booked in would probably have walked past and not taken much notice of the place as the front façade is not very big and the restaurant is actually upstairs but there is a new lift, deco was very nice, staff were very pleasant - it does have a bar so you can get wine, beer etc prices very reasonable and they do specials - I had Medium Haddock, chips and Bread and butter and a coke instead of the tea or coffee it was all nicely cooked not greasy and the fish tasted like fish, you could have white or brown bread. My husband had a prawn salad which looked very nice and he said it was very good - if I am back in Scarborough again I would certainly return and would recommend it to anyone, Everyone in our group was very impressed with this restaurant - loos are on the next floor but there is a stair lift

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Hubbard's also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mother Hubbard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Hubbard's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.