We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tunny Club

The Tunny Club
No1 Sandgate, Scarborough YO11 1PE, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

it was Ok. Served take away style with plastic knives and forks it was tasty but the mushy chips were very costly which made it slightly expensive overall. friendly staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    10
    6
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were looking for good haddock & chips and chose Tunny Club from the many places on offer. We weren't disappointed. Good quality fish, well cooked. Chips were from good quality potatoes and were also well cooked. Interior was interesting. Had good but not intrusive chat with proprietor who acted as host and waiter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

pleasant staff very friendly
and welcoming and very very tasty fish
would recommend
outside seating and lovely décor -

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Service was dreadful. staff looked like they couldn't be bothered, food was overcooked, luke warm. tasteless, expensive and to ad insult...food served with plastic cutlery on polystyrene trays, cups were dirty. and the place reeked! we sat in the court yard where you're basically within 4 walls with 4 tables where people were smoking within close proximity and next door the staff were smoking on the fire escape!
horrid place..AVOID and spend your money elsewhere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly plaice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a little gem. I love all the old photos here. Then all the staff are so friendly and inviting.I came here with some friends and we enjoyed our lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience in the Tunny club and we would recommend it to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tunny Club also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tunny Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tunny Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.