We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst In UK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Nelson Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lord Nelson Hotel
Save
You added Lord Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
36 Forshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worst In UK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

on been at scarborough for a 5 day break on the wednesday our friends arranged to meet us and we went for a walk on the prom and decided to go for a drink.
we went into this ole in the ground, it was desserted no one else in the place, it smelt of public toilets back in the 70's our friends got served first, there was 11 pumps on the bar 9 were sold out. she ordered a strongbow and a strawberry milk shake he had advertised, they were served solomly and the milk shake plonked on the bar still in its plastic bottle. my friend was charged one pound seventy pence for the milk shake and it clearly had 99p printed on the label.
i was with my partner, from the off it was clear the landlord was homophobic by the attitude and looks he gave us i asked for 2 pints of larger and were asked for id. im in my 40's and my partner in his 30's any way he would niot serve us he said he had to challenge 25, some would find it complementery but i found it quite insulting. as my friends had already paid we had to buy a drink so asked for 2 cokes, we were given 2 half pint glasses only two thirds filled the glasses wre dirty and tasted of salt and the coca cola which was postmix clearly wasnt the proper brand more like a rola cola brand you would buy from a discount outlet. i never even picked mine up from the counter.
The pub was owned by enterprise innes which i have commented to about our visit, the licence above the door clearly had its name taped out which i believe to be illegal. this pub really had to be the worst pub in scarborough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A Very poor place to go!!!
DO NOT GO THERE...EVEN FOR A DRINK IN THE BAR
Grim rooms, grim bar, very grim landlord!! Unbelievable, wallpaper pealing off wall, don't know what the beer was like, I wasn't prepared to risk one of their pints! Mattress was older than the hotel. No curtains only broken blinds Go home if this is your only option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a night in the lord nelson with small children . The staff were helpfull but the hotel is very run down carpets are disgusting . The room was a lovely size but had a horrible smell and was cold . My children even sensed it was unclean and were reluctant to get in the beds . No en suite facilities communal areas very dirty . This hotel with its size views and location has the potential to be fantastic but as it is at the moment I would not stay again ,

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked into the Nelson when we arrived in Scarborough at lunchtime to make sure we had a bed for the night. Our money was taken before we saw the room, the man then took us up to our room, dirty carpet on the stairs on the way up (why? when halfway up the stairs was a carpet cleaner!!) then into the room we went, bed looked clean enough and the view was lovely the sofa bed and carpet was a different matter.....again dirty and stained. The toilet and bathroom was at the end of the corridor and the toilet didnt even lock! But our money had been taken and we needed a room, so we left to spent the day with family in scarborough. we returned to the nelson in the evening when we put our bags on the single bed in our room and returned downstairs to the bar to enjoy a few drinks and the karaoke. we decided to go to our room around 12:15am, sat on the edge of the bed to remove our shoes and nearly fell through, we lifted the matress and the wooden slats on the bed were not in place properly and some were broken. We went down to the bar to tell the landlord, a simple apology and an offer of a change of room would have been acceptable.......what we got was an accusation of breaking the bed ourselves, when in fact we had only just gone into the room, cameras are in place but he refused to look at them to see that we were telling the truth about not being in the room before the time we stated....the landlord the procceeded to tell the barman that we could have a refund and "[--] off" his wife then accused us off giving false details when we booked in, when in fact we had to give photo ID....we were, after about 15-20 of unneccesarly abuse, given a fefund of part of our money but they kept some back to cover the cost of damages!! That we never caused in the first place. As i had had enough of this vile man and his b&b we took our money and left ( at 12:45am) with nowhere to go and a long way from home. We will come back to Scarborough but NEVER again TO this poor excuse for a B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We arrived in scarborough and picked the first place we seen the lord nelson b&b looked ok from the outside went and checked in paid our money and the man showed us to the room it was basic and warm the heating was on and the view was fantastic along the sea front.
The man then told us there would be no breakfast as he could not be bothered to get up that early bearing in mind that the breakfast time is 8.45---to 9.15 its not exactly hard to get up at that time and considering we had already paid for it and was offered no refund..
He then tried to blag a £20 deposit for a tv box if he wasnt going to be up to give us breakfast then he wasnt going to be up to give us our deposit back I declined his offer of a tv box.
The toilet across the hall was a disgrace the light switch was smashed and sunk into the wall DANGER the ceiling plaster seemed to have fell off the top of the toilet didnt fit and looked ancient.
the bathroom and shower scum mark around the bath and the shower was broke the sink looked like it had a brick dropped in it as it was all cracked DANGER.
our friends room smelt of urine.
this place has great potential with the right person running it but its a disaster at the minute.
scarborough tourist board needs a shake up.
on the plus side it was warm and all other people we met in scarborough were very friendly and kind..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson Hotel

Address: 36 Forshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.