We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it's busy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anvil Inn

The Anvil Inn
Main Street | Sawdon, Scarborough YO13 9DY , England
: 01723 859896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hawick, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No wonder it's busy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited on a Wednesday night, in the wettest week Yorkshire has had for 30 years. We booked just in case as we had read that it was busy, and just as well, as there were no more tables available. Not a huge menu, and very different to any other village pub I've ever been in. The food was delicious and beautifully served by the waitresses who were run off their feet all night. Lovely surroundings in a renovated old Smthy, delightful atmosphere and friendly staff. Price reasonable for the quality too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Foxholm bed and breakfast across the road from the Anvil Inn and they suggested booking a table at the Anvil Inn for a nice meal. It is obviously very popular as we booked a week in advance and booked their last available table for the Saturday evening.
On arrival the Anvil Inn it looked like a very quaint pub I think dating back to the 17th century. It is very cosy inside and all candle lit at night. There was a good choice of wine by the glass and our drinks before dinner were brought to our table by Alex which was a nice touch.
The menu was varied and I liked the fact that all the fish was on the specials menu as it depends on what they get in fresh. There was a good range of food to choose from but not over whelming and I think most of the food is sourced locally which is nice.
We dinned in the restaurant which is just off from the small bar area which felt lovely and romantic but not stuffy. The food we had was fabulous one of the best meals we have had in a long while. The portions were the right size not too big and we managed to save room to share a dessert of Pimms jelly which was lovely. The service was good and Alex, front of house, was very nice and friendly.

I would highly recommend the Anvil Inn for a wonderful meal. It isn’t cheap but reasonably priced for great food, a lovely setting and good service. If we were in the area again we wouldn’t hesitate to book a table again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not a lover of traditional sunday lunch (stemming back to having to eat if as a family then play 90 mins of football..) I was under slight duress going for lunch and on seeing the menu didnt inspire as it looked like traditional.. The description might have been but the real thing was much different. The presentation, flavour fusion even the veg tasted special. Three very good courses and a reasonable bottle of red later and very satisfied. Everything home cooked using local produce. Staff fine and friendly although very busy. Cant fault, and lovely home booked breads! A word of warning, you need to book!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went to the Anvil Inn last Friday night, What a fantastic and warm atmosphere! The staff are welcoming and friendly, surroundings spot on. We had the Honey Roast Venison and the Sirloin Steak with Yorkshire Blue - both cooked to melting perfection. The best meal in a pub ever!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude Staff!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went for a meal on Sunday Evening, at first staff were polite. Myself and partner ordered two different type of steaks cooked differently. When they arrived they were cooked the wrong way round so we had to swap. I told the waitress without causing a fuss and carried on with our meal. The rump was mainly fat without much meat (which i know rump has a nugget of fat through the middle, but this steak had hardly any meat on it). Half way through meal we explained to one waitress that the steaks were cooked wrong. Also when a different waitress cleared our plates we politely explained that our steaks were cooked the wrong way round and showed her all the fat that was left on the plate. We didn’t cause a fuss or create a sense. Within 10 minutes the front of house lady came marching in the restaurant with a rare joint of sirloin steak on a plate. She stood at our table to shouted "i have come to show you the sirloin steak has no fat on it!!!" i explained that it wasn’t even that steak we were talking about, the sirloin was gorgeous even though it was cooked wrong and my partner had to eat it. She then basically said we were lying.

The front of house lady did knock us two drinks of the menu, but wasn’t happy doing and said she wouldn’t knock a steak of the bill as there was nothing wrong with them. I would like to add we didn’t ask for a refund she jumped down our throats saying this as she gave us the bill.

I have never been embarrassed before in what’s meant to be a high class restaurant. All they were bothered about was money. They have no customer service skills what so ever!!!

Much better restaurants in Scarborough and surrounding restaurants where you get much better treatment and they cook your food right!!

First time we have been here and will be the last. I will recommend people not to go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil Inn also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Anvil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anvil Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.