We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curry Leaf

The Curry Leaf
2 Pavilion Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2JU, England
01723 352823
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb meal ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First time at the curry leaf and it won't be the last Sri Lankan cuisine at it's best sea food thalli was out of this world once I had been told how to eat it it was presented on a stainless steel tray with a dozen small crucibles I was waiting for a plate when the waiter told me to empty the crucibles on to the tray and mix them all together the result was beautiful textures and flavors I will be back in September as as I am a auto 66 Marshall at Oliver's mount for the Steve Henshaw international gold cup races

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    49
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, Co Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best food in Scarborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited our son in Scarborough and again visited this restaurant for the fourth time. The owner and chef Dharma is in a class of her own and a lovely person.
The three of us had the Thali again, two chicken and one lamb, and it was superb as usual. I mentioned that I was going to try the Khari lamb, so Dharma made my lamb in that style, beautiful.
There was a lovely atmosphere, with most tables being used. It was also nice to see families with children trying the food.
I would recommend the Curry Leaf to all lovers of Indian/Sri Lankan food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“IF YOU LIKE INDIAN FOOD YOU WILL LOVE SRI LANKAN CUISINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited again last night. The food once again was out of this world. The chef and owner is a genius with spices and flavours and the Thali is exceptional. Wine was great and not expensive and the service was very good. I only had Thali as my main course having tried and failed previously to have starters and desserts and a Thali. To anyone who has loves Indian food you really want to try Sri Lankan cuisine. It has so much more flavours and is equal to a great Indian meal if not better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I rarely leave reviews on trip advisor which should be a good indication as to the quality of this restaurant.
Looks can be deceiving and it easy to miss The Curry Leaf nestled away in the back streets of Scarborough. I am so glad I found it, what food!!! Without question the best Indian food I've ever eaten and I've eaten a lot!
So many interesting flavours rarely found in the "usual" curry house.
Authentic home cooked Indian food.
You've gotta try this one!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A brilliant tasty meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We go to Scarborough about once a year and have been to the Curry Leaf before. We felt that this visit was the best, the food was tastier than ever. We have the Thali which is constantly good. the service was great and the atmosphere, even though we were there early, was lovely. Don't be put off by the exterior which is less promising. The price was very reasonable and be aware they only take cash. Thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Leaf also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curry Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.